Wiki on Vienna Teng

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Drought by Vienna Teng

Summer move forward and stitch me the fabric of fall
Wrap life in the brilliance of death to humble us all
How sweet is the day
I’m craving a darkness
As I sit tucked away with my back to the wall

And the taste of dried-up hopes in my mouth
And the landscape of merry and desperate drought
How much longer dear angels
Let winterlight come
And spread your white sheets over my empty house

Summer move forward and leave your heat anchored in dust
Forgotten him, cheated him, painted illusions of lust
Now language escape, fugitive of forgiveness
Leaving as trace only circles of rust

And the taste of dried-up hopes in my mouth
And the landscape of merry and desperate drought
How much longer dear angels
Come break me with ice
Let the water of calm trickle over my doubts

Come let me drown
Angels no fire no salt on the plow
Carry me down
Bury me down

And the taste of dried-up hopes in my mouth
And the landscape of merry and desperate drought
Once I knew myself
And with knowing came love
I would know love again if I had faith enough
Too far is next spring and her jubilant shout
So angels, inside
Is the only way out

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

绿岛小夜曲- Green Island Serenade by Vienna Teng

 

這綠島像一隻船  在月夜裡搖呀搖

姑娘喲妳已在我的  心海裏飄呀飄…

讓我的歌聲隨那微風  吹開了你的窗簾

讓我的衷情隨那流水  不斷的向妳傾訴…

椰子樹的長影  掩不住我的情意

明媚的月光  更照亮了我的心…

這綠島的夜已經  這樣沉靜

姑娘喲妳為什麼  還是默默無語

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Love Turns 40

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Dreaming Through the Noise

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Gravity

they’ve given up believing
they’ve turned aside our stories of the gentle fall

but don’t you believe them
don’t you drink their poison too
these are the scars that words have carved
on me

hey love
that’s the name we’ve long held back
from the core of truth

so don’t turn away now
I am turning in revolution
these are the scars that silence carved
on me

this is the same place
no not the same place
this is the same place, love
no not the same place we’ve been before

hey love
I am a constant satellite
of your blazing sun
my love
I obey your law of gravity
this is the fate you’ve carved on me
your law of gravity
this is the fate you’ve carved on me
on me

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Lullaby for a Stormy Night-Vienna Teng

little child, be not afraid
though thunder explodes and lightning flash
illuminates your tear-stained face
I am here tonight

and someday you’ll know
that nature is so
the same rain that draws you near me
falls on rivers and land
on forests and sand
makes the beautiful world that you’ll see
in the morning

little child, be not afraid
though storm clouds mask your beloved moon
and its candlelight beams, still keep pleasant dreams
I am here tonight

little child, be not afraid
though wind makes creatures of our trees
and their branches to hands, they’re not real, understand
and I am here tonight

for you know, once even I was a
little child, and I was afraid
but a gentle someone always came
to dry all my tears, trade sweet sleep for fears
and to give a kiss goodnight

well now I am grown
and these years have shown
that rain’s a part of how life goes
but it’s dark and it’s late
so I’ll hold you and wait
’til your frightened eyes do close

and I hope that you’ll know…

everything’s fine in the morning
the rain’ll be gone in the morning
but I’ll still be here in the morning

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – City Hall

me and my baby on a february holiday
’cause we got the news
yeah, we got the news
500 miles and we’re gonna make it all the way
we’ve got nothing to lose
we’ve got nothing to lose

it’s been 10 years waiting
but it’s better late than the never
we’ve been told before
we can’t wait one minute more

oh, me and my baby driving down
to a hilly seaside town in the rainfall
oh, me and my baby stand in line
you’ve never seen a sight so fine
as the love that’s gonna shine
at city hall

me and my baby’ve been through
a lot of good and bad
learned to kiss the sky
made our momma’s cry
I’ve seen a lot of friends
after giving it all they had
lay down and die
lay down and die

10 years into it
here’s our window
at the vegas drive-thru chapel
it ain’t too much
for ’em all to handle

oh, me and my baby driving down
to a hilly seaside town in the rainfall
oh, me and my baby stand in line
you’ve never seen a sight so fine
as the love that’s gonna shine
at city hall

outside, they’re handing out
donuts and pizza pies
for the folks in pairs in the folding chairs
my baby’s lookin’ so damned pretty
with those anxious eyes
rain-speckled hair
and my ring to wear

10 years waiting for this moment of fate
when we say the words and sign our names
if they take it away again someday
this beautiful thing won’t change

oh, me and my baby driving down
to a hilly seaside town in the rainfall
oh, me and my baby stand in line
you’ve never seen a sight so fine
as the love that’s gonna shine

oh, me and my baby driving down
to a hilly seaside town in the rainfall
oh, me and my baby stand in line
you’ve never seen a sight so fine
as the love that’s gonna shine
at city hall

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng Live – “Eric’s Song”

Strange how you know inside me
I measure the time and I stand amazed
Strange how I know inside you
My hand is outstretched toward the damp of the haze

And of course I forgive
I’ve seen how you live
Like a phoenix you rise from the ashes
You pick up the pieces
And the ghosts in the attic
They never quite leave
And of course I forgive
You’ve seen how I live
I’ve got darkness and fears to appease
My voices and analogies
Ambitions like ribbons
Worn bright on my sleeve
Strange how we know each other
Strange how I fit into you
There’s a distance erased with the greatest of ease
Strange how you fit into me
A gentle warmth filling the deepest of needs
And with each passing day
The stories we say
Draw us tighter into our addiction
Confirm our conviction
That some kind of miracle
Passed on our heads
And how I am sure
Like never before
Of my reasons for defying reason
Embracing the seasons
We dance through the colors
Both followed and led
Strange how we fit each other
Strange how certain the journey
Time unfolds the petals
For our eyes to see
Strange how this journey’s hurting
In ways we accept as part of fate’s decree

So we just hold on fast
Acknowledge the past
As lessons exquisitely crafted
Painstakingly drafted
To carve ourselves instruments
That play the music of life
For we don’t realize
Our faith in the prize
Unless it’s been somehow elusive
How swiftly we choose it
The sacred simplicity
Of you at my side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Cannonball by Vienna Teng

Still a little bit of your taste in my mouth
Still a little bit of you laced with my doubt
It’s still a little hard to say
What’s going on
Still a little bit of your ghost – your witness
Still a little piece of your face I haven’t kissed
You step a little closer each day
And I can’t say what’s going on
Stones taught me to fly
Love taught me to lie
Life taught me to die
And it’s not hard to fall
When you float like a cannonball
There’s still a little bit of your song in my ear
Still a little bit of your words I long to hear
You step a little closer to me
So close that i can’t see what’s going on
Stones taught me to fly
Love taught me to lie
Life taught me to die
And it’s not hard to fall
When you float like a cannon
Storms taught me to fly
Love taught me to cry
So come on courage, teach me to be shy
And it’s not hard to fall
And i don’t want to scare him
It’s not hard to fall
And i don’t wanna lose
It’s not hard to grow
When you know that you just don’t know

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – World Café Live

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – I Don’t Feel So Well

I don’t feel so well
I thought that you should know
I thought that you should know
That I don’t feel so well
I thought that you should know before you fall

I don’t call them back
I thought that you should know
I thought that you should know
That I don’t call them back
I thought that you should know before you fall

I saw it begin to dawn on us both
That somehow it wasn’t suprising
And so you’re preparing to swear every oath
And all the while I’m realizing

I can’t love you then
I thought that you should know
I thought that you should know
That I can’t love you then
I thought that you should know before you fall

I saw it begin to dawn on us both
That somehow it wasn’t suprising
And so you’re preparing to swear every oath
And all the while I’m realizing

I can’t love you then
I thought that you should know
I thought that you should know
That I can’t love you then
I thought that you should know before you fall

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Recessional 

It’s so beautiful here, she says,
This moment now, this moment now.
And I never thought I would find her here,
Flannel and satin, my four walls transformed.

She’s looking at me, straight dissenter,
No room at all for any other thought.
And I know I don’t want this
Oh, I swear I don’t want this
There’s a reason I don’t want this
But I forgot.

In the terminal, she sleeps on my shoulder,
Hair falling forward, mouth all askew.
Flourescent announcements beat their wings overhead:
Passengers missing, we’re looking for you.

And she dreams through the noise, her weight against me,
Face pressed into the corduroy grooves.
Maybe it means nothing
Maybe it means nothing
Maybe it means nothing, but I’m afraid to move.

And the words, they’re everything and nothing;
I want to search for her in the offhand remarks:
Who are you, taking coffee no sugar?
Who are you, echoing street signs?
Who are you, the stranger in the shell of a lover,
Dark curtains drawn by the passage of time?
Oh, words like rain, how sweet the sound.

Well anyway, she says, I’ll see you around.

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Unwritten Letter #1

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Between

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Vienna Teng – Blue Caravan

