Wiki on Rhonda

Rhonda Vincent – I Gotta Start Somewhere (from 2008 album “Good thing going”)

I spent some time in Carolina
Thought those mountains out there just might do the trick
Two weeks of sunsets took my breath
But I still remember what I went there to forget

I’m lookin’ for a place
To turn my heart around
Where I can hear your name
Without breaking down
What I was lookin’ for
Wasn’t in the mountain air
But I gotta start somewhere

So I’m gonna take a chance this evening
On someone who just might sweep me off my feet
He holds me close I close my eyes
I see your face
And I realize that I’m

Still lookin’ for a place
To turn my heart around
Where I can see your face
Without breaking down
Dancing in his arms
I didn’t find the answer there
But I gotta start somewhere

Thought I could drown your memory in a glass
Thoutht time might fix the way I feel
But after all I’ve tried I’m still

Lookin’ for a place
To turn my heart around
Where I can hear your name
Without breaking down
Tonight I’ll get on my knees
Pray to find healing there
Lord I gotta start somewhere
I’ve gotta start somewhere

Rhonda Vincent and the Rage – “Heartbreakers Alibi”

I thought I’d take a quick ride
To ease my worried mind.
But lonesome was the blacktop,
So I pulled off to the side.
As I drove into the parking lot,
I couldn’t believe my eyes.
Oh there’s that pretty Jenny
With that man of mine.

-CHORUS-
And it’s another heartbreaker’s alibi.
It’s another coldhearted, dirty lie.
They’ll be a long trail of tears left behind.
But my eyes have been opened,
Now she’s the one who’s blind.

He had no time to call me,
‘Cause he never stayed at home.
He refused to take me with him,
He’d rather go alone.
Well, he didn’t wanna hold me,
And he had no time to talk,
About our pain and troubles,
Now he’s the one in fault.

And it’s another heartbreaker’s alibi.
It’s another coldhearted, dirty lie.
They’ll be a long trail of tears left behind.
But my eyes have been opened,
Now she’s the one who’s blind.

And it’s another heartbreaker’s alibi.
It’s another coldhearted, dirty lie.
They’ll be a long trail of tears left behind.
But my eyes have been opened,
Now she’s the one who’s blind.

Yes my eyes have been opened,
Now she’s the one who’s blind.

Rhonda Vincent If heartache had wings

It’s three in the morning on a Saturday night.
The laundry and dishes just ain’t worth the fight.
Headlights are dancin’ across the living room wall.
And that long distant highway just echos the hall.

Now the babies are sleeping on back in their room,
And he’s been passed out on the sofa since noon.
Nobody told her about none of these things,
And God knows, she’d leave there if heartaches had wings.

If heartaches had wings she would fly,
Away like some bird through the night.
It’s a long, long way from a young girl’s dream,
But she’d surely leave there if heartaches had wings.

She grew up believin’ that wishes come true:
A knight on a white horse, like some young girls do.
So she married her the captain of the school football team,
Just like she was supposed to as Homecoming Queen.

If heartaches had wings she would fly,
Away like some bird through the night.
It’s a long, long way from a young girl’s dream,
But she’d surely leave there if heartaches had wings.

She turns out the lights and she lays down in bed,
The sound of that highway still runs through her head.
She closes her eyes and she whispers those prayers,
And falls asleep wondering: “Does anyone care?”

If heartaches had wings she would fly,
Away like some bird through the night.
It’s a long, long way from a young girl’s dream,
God knows, she’d leave there if heartaches had wings.
If heartaches had wings.

Rhonda Vincent – Join The Journey

LITTLE ANGELS

One summer day a stranger walked up to me and said,
hey Little Angel would you please tell me your name.
I just turned my head and said, Laura Jane’s my name.
he said, Laura, would you like to play a game.

Too young to know and understand the reason why
this Little Angel had to live with so much pain.
As a child of only nine I was not to blame
Now my heart must grow beyond the shame.

Chorus:
Dear God, keep and eye on Little Angels
As they lay down to sleep
I pray their Soul’s to keep.
When mom and dad can’t be there
we hope you will hear our prayer…
Please don’t let other strangers
hurt one more little Angel

I got called into something
not knowing right from wrong
now I pray everyday to be strong
God help me forgive this man
maybe then I’ll understand
Little Angels shouldn’t have to live this way.

Repeat Chorus

Rhonda Vincent – All American Bluegrass Girl

“Bill might be from Kentucky, and
Jimmy from Tennessee.
I’m an all American bluegrass girl, and
proud as I can be.

Each day I greet the morning
with the sounds of the radio,
Lester Flatt was singing on that
Martha White show.
“Big K” on the banjo, Marty on the mandolin.
I’m an all American bluegrass girl
and proud of where I’ve been.

-CHORUS-
Bill might be from Kentucky, and
Jimmy from Tennessee.
Though I might be from Missouri,
I’m as bluegrass as can be.
A life of bluegrass music
with friends and family.
I’m an all American bluegrass girl,
and proud as I can be.

All my life they told me,
‘You’re pretty good for a girl.
Some day you’ll play the Opry
just like Sonny, Bob and Earl.’
I’m livin’ dreams I never dreamed.
Mom and Daddy, they taught me right.
To be an all American bluegrass girl
who’s singin’ here tonight.

Bill might be from Kentucky, and
Jimmy from Tennessee.
Though I might be from Missouri,
I’m as bluegrass as can be.
A life of bluegrass music
with friends and family.
I’m an all American bluegrass girl,
and proud as I can be.

Bill might be from Kentucky, and
Jimmy from Tennessee.
Though I might be from Missouri,
I’m as bluegrass as can be.
A life of bluegrass music
with friends and family.
I’m an all American bluegrass girl,
and proud as I can be.

I’m an all American bluegrass girl
and proud as I can be.

Fishers of Men, Rhonda Vincent

Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.

Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.

Peter, John, and James
Could never be the same
After they heard him say
I’ll make you fishers of men.

He said, Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.
He said, Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.

Cast your nets aside
and join the battle tide
He will be your guide
To make you fishers of men.

He said, Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.
He said, Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.

Jesus bore the cross
To gather in the lost
Oh what a might cost
To set us free from sin.

He said, Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.
He said, Rise and follow me
I’ll make you worthy
Rise and follow me
I’ll make you fishers of men.

Rhonda Vincent at Sally Mt. – Is the Grass Any Bluer

You rolled out of Rosine, a dedicated man.
You drove those country back roads to a thousand one-night stands.
The music from your mandolin, spread like wildfire in the wind,
And echoed through the hollows and the hills, so tell me, Bill:

Is the grass any bluer on the other side?
Did it look like gold Kentucky when the gates swung open wide?
Bet the good Lord’s got you playin’ somewhere up there every night.
Is the grass any bluer on the other side?

Instrumental break.

I heard you on the Opry when I was just a kid.
I tried my best to learn to sing and play the way you did.
Just like me, the day you died, the guitars and the fiddles cried.
The music ain’t the same without you, Bill; we miss you still.

Is the grass any bluer on the other side?
Did it look like gold Kentucky when the gates swung open wide?
Bet the good Lord’s got you playin’ somewhere up there every night.
Is the grass any bluer on the other side?

Instrumental break.

Just like me, the day you died, the guitars and the fiddles cried.
The music ain’t the same without you, Bill; we miss you still.

Is the grass any bluer on the other side?
Did it look like gold Kentucky when the gates swung open wide?
Bet the good Lord’s got you playin’ somewhere up there every night.
Is the grass any bluer on the other side?

Is the grass any bluer on the other side?

Rhonda Vincent – Kentucky borderline

She pulled out of Mobile
in the pouring rain,
Moving through the darkness
like a hurricane.
From southern New Port waters
to the Cumberland so green,
Louisville by Nashville
and all points in between.
Pounding out a rhythm
making up lost time,
Heading for that
bluegrass state of mine.

(Chorus)
White smoke a rollin’
Whistle a blowin’
Listening to her engine keeping time
Kentucky borderline.

Montgomery my morning
Birmingham by noon,
Onward through the timber
upward to the moon.
Her lonesome whistle cries
a low sighed refrain,
like the boys down on Mill street
singing of the pain.
No one is gonna stop her
from her appointed rounds,
This train is moving on
its glory bound.

(Chorus)

Her lungs are full of fire
breathing burning coal,
A raging locamotion
like thunder when it rolls.
Singing for the mighty
who cast her molten steel,
Drawed the spike and layed the rail
to ride beneath her wheels.
The pride of our nation
she’s a monument to them,
A southern bell
that mighty L&N

(Chorus)

Rhonda Vincent and the Rage “When the Angels Sing” live

When love is faithful, strong and true
When the breath of life is given you
When flowers bloom in early spring
That’s the time in heaven when the angels sing

(Chorus)
Where angels sing above the blue
A promise of a world that’s new
And tear dimmed eyes no more will be
When the angels sing for you and me

Be a shining light as you pass through
Remember the promise He gave to you
Hold to His word trust everything
Live forever in heaven where the angels sing

Where angels sing above the blue
A promise of a world that’s new
And tear dimmed eyes no more will be
When the angels sing for you and me

Where angels sing above the blue
A promise of a world that’s new
And tear dimmed eyes no more will be
When the angels sing for you and me

(Tag)
When the angels sing for you and me

homecoming

There’ll be a homecoming some morning
When Jesus calls us away
I’ll see mother and daddy
Lord I am ready
For Heaven’s homecoming day

Precious ones have gone on before
Our Lord waits for no man
Salvation will gain us
A ticket to see them
And a place in God’s final plan

There’ll be a homecoming some morning
When Jesus calls us away
I’ll see mother and daddy
Lord I am ready
For Heaven’s homecoming day

He will come like a theif in the night
To take us to Heaven on high
There we’ll gather once more
With those we adore
In a place where we never shall die

There’ll be a homecoming some morning
When Jesus calls us away
I’ll see mother and daddy
Lord I am ready
For Heaven’s homecoming day
(key change)
There’ll be a homecoming some morning
When Jesus calls us away
I’ll see mother and daddy
Lord I am ready
For Heaven’s homecoming day

Rhonda Vincent – Riding the Red Line

There’s a cold wind from Alberta
that carries me on down,
From Greenbay to the Port shore
this rig is homeward bound.
Nothings gonna stop me
from that boy of mine,
It’s pedal to the metal
and ridin that red line.

{Chorus}

Forty tons of iron
Sixteen hours to go,
18 wheels to take me
to the one that I love so.
I know he’s waiting for me
and looking mighty fine,
It’s pedal to the metal
and riding that red line.

Springfield to St. Louie
just said goodbye to me,
I’m southbound like a nighbird
on the wing and sailing free.
The morning light will bring him
I can see him in the view,
My hauling days are over
this run is nearly through.

{Chorus 2x}

The queen of my destiny
riding on the wind
I’m heading home again.

 

===========================================

Rhonda Vincent- Interview “2008 album Good Thing Going” And Going Strong…

 

 

