TRACE ADKINS Rough And Ready

mudgrips
white-tip cigar
stickin’ out of my face
Earnhart racing sticker
on the window
banged up fender
four by four
straight pipe roar
primer and rust
all over the door
scarred up knuckles
mack belt buckle
white t-shirt
aint afraid to work
got a ‘what-are-you-looking-at-asshole- smirk

(chorus)

cold beer
hot wings
wranglers
skoal ring
get just what you see
gun rack
ball cap
dont take
no crap
aint a pretty boy-toy
ill rock you steady
rough and ready

work boots
one blue suit
size too small
dont wear it at all
unless somebody kicks
gets hitched
thats a bitch
it makes me itch
up with the sun
off on the run
makin’ money money
cause i wanna have fun
five o’clock whistle
off like a missle
got a hot date
girl named kate
thinks im cool
cause i shoot straight
aint one thing
about her fake
shes long and tall
and she goes great with

cold beer
hot wings
wranglers
skoal ring
get just what you see
gun rack
ball cap
dont take
no crap
aint a pretty boy-toy
ill rock you steady
rough and ready

rough and ready baby
well you are who you are
and thats alright with me
well i am who i am
and thats all i can be

i like
cold beer
hot wings
wranglers
skoal ring
get just what you see
gun rack
ball cap
dont take
no crap
aint a pretty boy-toy
ill rock you steady
rough and ready
rough and ready
rough and ready baby..

Trace Adkins – Honky Tonk Badonkadonk

Turn it up some
Alright boys, this is her favorite song
You know that right
So, if we play it good and loud
She might get up and dance again
Ooh, she put her beer down
Here she comes
Here she comes
Left left left right left
Whoo

Husslers shootin’ eightball
Throwin’ darts at the wall
Feelin’ damn near 10 ft. tall
Here she comes, Lord help us all
Ol’ T.W.’s girlfriend done slapped him outta his chair
Poor ole boy, it ain’t his fault
It’s so hard not to stare
At that honky tonk badonkadonk
Keepin’ perfect rhythm
Make ya wanna swing along
Got it goin’ on
Like Donkey Kong
And whoo-wee
Shut my mouth, slap your grandma
There outta be a law
Get the Sheriff on the phone
Lord have mercy, how’s she even get them britches on
That honky tonk badonkadonk
(Aww son)

Now Honey, you can’t blame her
For what her mama gave her
It ain’t right to hate her
For workin’ that money-maker
Band shuts down at two
But we’re hangin’ out till three
We hate to see her go
But love to watch her leave
With that honky tonk badonkadonk
Keepin’ perfect rhythm
Make ya wanna swing along
Got it goin’ on
Like Donkey Kong
And whoo-wee
Shut my mouth, slap your grandma
There outta be a law
Get the Sheriff on the phone
Lord have mercy, how’s she even get them britches on
With that honky tonk badonkadonk
(Ooh, that’s what I’m talkin’ bout right there, honey)

We don’t care bout the drinkin’
Barely listen to the band
Our hands, they start a shakin’
When she gets the urge to dance
Drivin’ everybody crazy
You think you fell in love
Boys, you better keep your distance
You can look but you can’t touch
That honkey tonk badonkadonk
Keepin’ perfect rhythm
Make ya wanna swing along
Got it goin’ on
Like Donkey Kong
And whoo-wee
Shut my mouth, slap your grandma
There outta be a law
Get the Sheriff on the phone
Lord have mercy, how’s she even get them britches on
That honky tonk badonkadonk

That honky tonk badonkadonk
Yeah, that honky tonk badonkadonk

(That’s it, right there boys, that’s why we do what we do
It ain’t for the money, it ain’t for the glory, it ain’t for the free whiskey
It’s for the badonkadonk)

Trace Adkins – Then They Do

In the early rush of morning
Trying to get the kids to school
One’s hanging on my shirttail
Another’s locked up
In her room
And I’m yelling up the stairs
Stop worrying ’bout your hair
You look fine

Then they’re fightin’ in the backseat
I’m playing referee
Now someone’s gotta go
The moment that we leave
And everybody’s late
I swear that I can’t wait
‘Till they grow up

(Chorus) Then they do
And that’s how it is
It’s just quiet in the morning
Can’t believe
How much you miss
All they do
And all they did
You want all the dreams
They dreamed of
To come true
Then they do

Now the youngest is starting college
She’ll be leavin’ in the Fall
And Brianna’s latest boyfriend
Called to ask if we could talk
And I got the impression
That he’s about to pop the question any day

I look over at their pictures
Sittin’ in their frames
I see them as babies
I guess that’ll never change
You pray all their lives
That someday they will find happiness

(Chorus)

No more Monday PTA’s
No carpools
Or soccer games
Your work is done
Now you’ve got time
That’s all your own
You’ve been waitin’ for so long
For those days to come

(Chorus)

Trace Adkins – Ladies Love Country Boys

She grew up in the city in a little subdivision
Her daddy wore a tie, mama never fried a chicken
Ballet, straight-As, most likely to succeed
They bought her a car after graduation
Sent her down South for some higher education
Put her on the fast track to a law degree

Now shes coming home to visit
Holding the hand of a wild-eyed boy

With a farmers tan

Shes riding in the middle of his pickup truck
Blaring Charlie Daniels, yelling, Turn it up!
They raised her up a lady but theres one thing
They couldnt avoid
Ladies love country boys

You know mamas and daddies want better for their daughters
Hope theyll settle down with a doctor or a lawyer
And their uptown, ball gown, hand-me-down royalty

They never understand why their princess falls
For some camouflage britches and a southern-boy-drawl

Or why shes riding in the middle of a pickup truck
Blaring Hank Jr., yelling, Turn it up!
They raised her up a lady but theres one thing
They couldnt avoid
Ladies love country boys

You can train em, you can try to teach em
Right from wrong but its still gonna turn em on

And they go riding in the middle of a pickup truck
Blaring Lynyrd Skynyrd, yelling, Turn it up!
You can raise her up a lady but theres one thing
You just cant avoid
Ladies love country boys
They love us country boys

Trace Adkins – Hot Mama

You’re doin’ all you can to get in them old jeans.
You want that body back, you had at seventeen.
Baby, don’t get down; don’t worry ’bout a thing.
‘Cause the way you fill ’em out, hey, that’s all right with me.
I don’t want the girl you used to be.
An’ if you ain’t noticed, the kids are fast asleep,

An’ you’re one hot mama;
You turn me on, let’s turn it up,
An’ turn this room into a sauna.
One hot mama,
Oh, whaddya say, baby?
You wanna?

Well, I know sometimes you think that all you really are,
Is the woman with the kids an’ the groceries in the car.
An’ you worry about your hips an’ you worry about your age.
Meanwhile I’m tryin’ to catch the breath you take away.
Oh, an’ believe me, you still do.
Baby, all I see, when I look at you,

Is one hot mama;
You turn me on, let’s turn it up,
An’ turn this room into a sauna.
One hot mama,
Oh, whaddya say, baby?
You wanna?

Instrumental break.

I can’t imagine me lovin’ someone else.
I’m a lucky man,
I think Daddy’s got himself,

One hot mama;
You turn me on, let’s turn it up,
An’ turn this room into a sauna.
One hot mama,
Oh, whaddya say, babe?
Oh, now whaddya say, babe?
You wanna?

You’re one hot mama,
Let’s turn this room into a sauna, yeah.
Whaddya say, babe?
Whaddya say, babe?

To fade.

Trace Adkins – Chrome

Chrome, She can see herself In the shiny grill and the
Wire wheels of a red Chevelle with four on the floor and the top down
Chrome, zippin’ by on an Electra Glide
With dual tail pipes doin’ 105 in the broad daylight
On a two-lane headin’ outta town

Forget Pink and purple paisleys
little mellow-yellow daisies
Ain’t no pot of gold in her rainbow
Her favorite color is ..Chrome

Chrome, get her leg up high
on the bumper of my big black Mack truck
With a smoke stack pointed towards the sky
And mud flaps, you know the kind
Chrome,I said hey little girl you sure look nice
Do you wanna ride, I won’t bite, she climbs inside
Says hell no, I want to drive

Forget Pink and purple paisleys
little mellow-yellow daisies
Ain’t no pot of gold in her rainbow
Her favorite color is ..Chrome

It’s chrome alright Shiny,nice polished
Chrome, Chrome

Forget Pink and purple paisleys
little mellow-yellow daisies
Ain’t no pot of gold in her rainbow
Her favorite color is ..Chrome

Her favorite color is…chrome
That girl is all about chrome
She sure loves chrome

Trace Adkins – Arlington

I never thought that this is where I’d settle down,
I thought I’d die an old man back in my hometown,
They gave me this plot of land, me and some other men, for a job well done,
There’s a big white house sits on a hill just up the road,
The man inside he cried the day they brought me home,
They folded up a flag and told my mom and dad, we’re proud of your son

Chorus:
And I’m proud to be on this peaceful piece of property,
I’m on sacred ground and I’m in the best of company,
I’m thankful for those thankful for the things I’ve done,
I can rest in peace, I’m one of the chosen ones, I made it to Arlington

I remember daddy brought me here when i was eight,
We searched all day to find out where my granddad lay,
And when we finally found that cross,
He said, “son this is what it cost to keep us free”
Now here I am, a thousand stones away from him,
He reconized me on the first day i came in,
And it gave me a chill when he clicked his heels, and saluted me.

(Repeat Chorus)

And everytime I hear twenty-one guns,
I know they brought another hero home to us

We’re thankful for those thankful for the things we’ve done,
We can rest in peace, ’cause we are the chosen ones,
We made it to arlington, yea dust to dust,
Don’t cry for us,we made it to arlington.

Trace Adkins – Bugs Bunny – Swing Batter Swing

Take me out to the ball game.

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing, yah.

(Strike one.)
Hey, baby, do you come here often?
(Strike two.)
Hey, baby, now what’s your sign?
(Strike three.)
Hold on, now, where you goin’.
(He is out.)
Jimmy’s out: next in line.

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing now.

(First base.)
Why, yes: I went to Harvard. (Safe.)
(Big league.)
I majored in pre-med. (He’s got a bad leg.)
(Big dog.)
Just stayed for one semester. (He’s gotta be.)
(He’s out.)
Tom’s out: who’s next?

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing it now.

Instrumental Break.

Everybody strikes out nine times outta ten.
But you gotta step up to the plate, son,
‘Cause every now and then.

(Last call.)
She walked right up to me.
(Here’s the pitch.)
Said: “Could I take you home?”
(There’s the drive.)
Hey boys, I’ll see you later.
(It could be, he hit it.)
Going, goin’ goin’, gone.

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.

Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Swing, batter, batter; swing, batter, batter;
Swing, batter, batter, swing.
Ah ha, ha.

Holy cow.

Trace Adkins – I Wanna Feel Something

If youre tellin me Im not on fire
Youre just preachin to the choir
Ive gotten dull as old barbed wire from livin
Last night I watched the evening news
It was the same ol nothin new
It should have cut me right in two
But it didnt
I dont know why it didnt

But I wanna feel somethin
Somethin thats a real somethin
That moves me, that proves to me Im still alive
I wanna heart that beats and bleeds
A heart thats bustin at the seams
I wanna care, I wanna cry, I wanna scream
I just wanna feel somethin

If youre tellin me thats just how it is
I dont buy it cause once I was kissed
By a red-headed girl with cherry lips
On her porch when I was sixteen
And I felt it somewhere in my soul and time stood still and I couldnt let go
I cant tell you cause I dont know how I got so cold
When did I get so cold

[Chorus:]
I just wanna feel somethin
Somethin thats a real somethin
That moves me, that proves to me Im still alive
Run my fingers through your fingers, across your face and through your hair
And close my eyes and breathe you in like air
I just wanna feel somethin

I hate that Im jaded and I make you cry
But still you stick around me, only God knows why
Damn it all to hell, Im done
Cause I dont like what Ive become
So come here, baby
Come here, baby

[Repeat Chorus]

Come here, baby

Trace Adkins – Songs About Me

I met a guy on the red eye
He spotted my guitar
and said what do you do?
I said, I sing for a living,
Country music mixed with
a little rock and a little blues
He said I’m sorry
but I’ve never been crazy
’bout that twang and trains and hillbilly thing
What ever made you want to sing stuff like that?
I just looked at him and laughed and said

cause it’s songs about me
and who I am
songs about loving and living
and good hearted women and family and God
yeah they’re all just
songs about me
songs about me

So I offered him tickets
I said you’ll see what I mean
if you show up tonight
he said I doubt you’ll change my opinion
I’ll be kind of busy, but hey man, I’ll try

Then later on when we finished our songs
about scars and cars and broken hearts
I saw him, he was standing there
right next to the stage
and he shouted
man you were right
it was like you sang those

songs about me
and who I am
songs about loving and living
and good hearted women and family and God
yeah they’re all just
songs about me
songs about me

So I’ll just keep on singing
’til I hear the whole world singing those

songs about me
and who I am
songs about loving and living
and good hearted women and family and God
yeah they’re all just
songs about me
songs about me

 

 

Trace Adkins – I Got My Game On

 

 

Trace Adkins – Help Me Understand

 

 

Trace Adkins – Every Light In The House

 

 

Trace Adkins – I Wanna Feel Something

 

Trace Adkins – Don’t Lie

Trace Adkins – There’s A Girl In Texas

Trace Adkins- I’m Tryin’

Trace Adkins – More

