Paul Simon – GRACELAND!!!

The mississippi delta was shining
Like a national guitar
I am following the river
Down the highway
Through the cradle of the civil war
I?m going to graceland
Graceland
In memphis tennessee
I?m going to graceland
Poorboys and pilgrims with families
And we are going to graceland
My traveling companion is nine years old
He is the child of my first marriage
But I?ve reason to believe
We both will be received
In graceland

She comes back to tell me she?s gone
As if I didn?t know that
As if I didn?t know my own bed
As if I?d never noticed
The way she brushed her hair from her forehead
And she said losing love
Is like a window in your heart
Everybody sees you?re blown apart
Everybody sees the wind blow

I?m going to graceland
Memphis tennessee
I?m going to graceland
Poorboys and pilgrims with families
And we are going to graceland

And my traveling companions
Are ghosts and empty sockets
I?m looking at ghosts and empties
But I?ve reason to believe
We all will be received
In graceland

There is a girl in new york city
Who calls herself the human trampoline
And sometimes when I?m falling, flying
Or tumbling in turmoil I say
Oh, so this is what she means
She means we?re bouncing into graceland
And I see losing love
Is like a window in your heart
Everybody sees you?re blown apart
Everybody sees the wind blow

In graceland, in graceland
I?m going to graceland
For reasons I cannot explain
There?s some part of me wants to see
Graceland
And I may be obliged to defend
Every love, every ending
Or maybe there?s no obligations now
Maybe I?ve a reason to believe
We all will be received
In graceland

 

 

 

Paul Simon – You Can Call Me Al

A man walks down the street,
He says, Why am I soft in the middle now?
Why am I soft in the middle?
The rest of my life is so hard!
I need a photo-opportunity,
I want a shot at redemption!
Don’t want to end up a cartoon,
In a cartoon graveyard …..

Bonedigger, Bonedigger,
Dogs in the moonlight.
Far away, my well-lit door.
Mr. Beerbelly, Beerbelly,
Get these mutts away from me!
You know, I don’t find this stuff amusing anymore ….

If you’ll be my bodyguard,
I can be your long lost pal!
I can call you Betty,
And Betty, when you call me,
You can call me Al!

A man walks down the street,
He says, Why am I short of attention?
Got a short little span of attention,
And whoa, my nights are so long!
Where’s my wife and family?
What if I die here?
Who’ll be my role-model?
Now that my role-model is ….
Gone …… gone,
He ducked back down the alley,
With some roly-poly, little bat-faced girl.
All along …. along ….
There were incidents and accidents,
There were hints and allegations …..

If you’ll be my bodyguard,
I can be your long lost pal!
I can call you Betty,
And Betty, when you call me,
You can call me Al!
Call me Al ……

A man walks down the street,
It’s a street in a strange world.
Maybe it’s the Third World.
Maybe it’s his first time around.
He doesn’t speak the language,
He holds no currency.
He is a foreign man,
He is surrounded by the sound, sound ….
Cattle in the marketplace.
Scatterlings and orphanages.
He looks around, around …..
He sees angels in the architecture,
Spinning in infinity,
He says, Amen! and Hallelujah!

If you’ll be my bodyguard,
I can be your long lost pal!
I can call you Betty,
And Betty, when you call me,
You can call me Al!
You can call me Al ……

 

 

 

Paul Simon – I know what I know

She looked me over
And I guess she thought
I was all right
All right in a sort of a limited way
For an off-night
She said don?t I know you
From the cinematographer?s party
I said who am i
To blow against the wind
I know what I know
I?ll sing what I said
We come and we go
That?s a thing that I keep
In the back of my head

She said there?s something about you
That really reminds me of money
She is the kind of a girl
Who could say things that
Weren?t that funny
I said what does that mean
I really remind you of money
She said who am i
To blow against the wind

I know what I know
I?ll sing what I said
We come and we go
That?s a thing that I keep
In the back of my head

She moved so easily
All I could think of was sunlight
I said aren?t you the women
Who was recently given a fulbright
She said don?t I know you
From the cinematographer?s party
I said who am i
To blow against the wind

I know what I know
I?ll sing what I said
We come and we go
That?s a thing that I keep
In the back of my head

 

 

 

Paul Simon — Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes

(a-wa) o kodwa u zo-nge li-sa namhlange
(a-wa a-wa) si-bona kwenze ka kanjani
(a-wa a-wa) amanto mbazane ayeza
She?s a rich girl
She don?t try to hide it
Diamonds on the soles of her shoes

He?s a poor boy
Empty as a pocket
Empty as a pocket with nothing to lose
Sing ta na na
Ta na na na
She got diamonds on the soles of her shoes
She got diamonds on the soles of her shoes
Diamonds on the soles of her shoes
Diamonds on the soles of her shoes

People say she?s crazy
She got diamonds on the soles of her shoes
Well that?s one way to lose these
Walking blues
Diamonds on the soles of her shoes

She was physically forgotten
Then she slipped into my pocket
With my car keys
She said you?ve taken me for granted
Because I please you
Wearing these diamonds

And I could say oo oo oo
As if everybody knows
What I?m talking about
As if everybody would know
Exactly what I was talking about
Talking about diamonds on the soles of her shoes

She makes the sign of a teaspoon
He makes the sign of a wave
The poor boy changes clothes
And puts on after-shave
To compensate for his ordinary shoes

And she said honey take me dancing
But they ended up by sleeping
In a doorway
By the bodegas and the lights on
Upper broadway
Wearing diamonds on the soles of their shoes

And I could say oo oo oo
As if everybody here would know
What I was talking about
I mean everybody here would know exactly
What I was talking about
Talking about diamonds

People say I?m crazy
I got diamonds on the soles of my shoes
Well that?s one way to lose
These walking blues
Diamonds on the soles of your shoes

 

 

 

paul simon – the obvious child

I?m accustomed to a smooth ride
Or maybe I?m a dog who?s lost it?s bite
I don?t expect to be treated like a fool no more
I don?t expect to sleep through the night
Some people say a lie?s a lie?s a lie
But I say why
Why deny the obvious child?
Why deny the obvious child?

And in remembering a road sign
I am remembering a girl when I was young
And we said these songs are true
These days are ours
These tears are free
And hey
The cross is in the ballpark
The cross is in the ballpark

We had a lot of fun
We had a lot of money
We had a little son and we thought we?d call him sonny
Sonny gets married and moves away
Sonny has a baby and bills to pay
Sonny gets sunnier
Day by day by day by day

I?ve been waking up at sunrise
I?ve been following the light across my room
I watch the night receive the room of my day
Some people say the sky is just the sky
But I say
Why deny the obvious child?
Why deny the obvious child?

Sonny sits by his window and thinks to himself
How it?s strange that some rooms are like cages
Sonny?s yearbook from high school
Is down from the shelf
And he idly thumbs through the pages
Some have died
Some have fled from themselves
Or struggled from here to get there
Sonny wanders beyond his interior walls
Runs his hand through his thinning brown hair

Well I?m accustomed to a smoother ride
Maybe I?m a dog that?s lost his bite
I don?t expect to be treated like a fool no more
I don?t expect to sleep the night
Some people say a lie is just a lie
But I say the cross is in the ballpark
Why deny the obvious child?

 

 

 

Paul Simon Music Video: Proof

Soon our fortunes will be made, my darling
And we will leave this loathsome little town
Silver bells jingling from your black lizard boots, my baby
Silver foil to trim your wedding gown

It?s true the tools of love wear down
Time passes
A mind wanders
It seems mindless, but it does
Sometimes I see you face
As if through reading glasses
And your smile seems softer than it was

Proof
Some people gonna call you up
Tell you something that you already know
Proof
Sane people go crazy on you
Say ??no man, that was not
The deal we made
I got to go, I got to go??
Faith
Faith is an island in the setting sun
But proof, yes
Proof is the bottom line for everyone

My face, my race
Don?t matter anymore
My sex, my cheques
Accepted at the door

Proof
Some people gonna call you up
Tell you something that you already know
Proof
Sane people go crazy on you
Say ??no man, that was not
The deal we made
I got to, I got to go??
Faith
Faith is an island in the setting sun
But proof, yes
Proof is the bottom line for everyone

Half moon hiding in the clouds, my darling
And the sky is flecked with signs of hope
Raise your weary wings against the rain, my baby
Wash your tangled curls with gambler?s soap

Proof
Some people gonna call you up
Tell you something that you already know
Sane people go crazy on you
Say ??no man, that was not
The deal we made
I got to, I got to, I got to??
Faith
Faith is an island in the setting sun
But proof, yes
Proof is the bottom line for everyone

 

 

Paul Simon & Miriam Makeba

 

 

 

El Condor Pasa- Simon & Garfunkel

I?d rather be a sparrow than a snail.
Yes I would.
If I could,
I surely would.
I?d rather be a hammer than a nail.
Yes I would.
If I could,
I surely would.

Chorus
Away, I?d rather sail away
Like a swan that?s here and gone
A man grows older every day
It gives the world
Its saddest sound,
Its saddest sound.

I?d rather be a forest than a street.
Yes I would.
If I could,
I surely would.

I?d rather feel the earth beneath my feet,
Yes I would.
If I could,
I surely would.

Chorus

 

 

 

 

 

50 Ways to Leave your Lover – Paul Simon

The problem is all inside your head
She said to me
The answer is easy if you
Take it logically
I’d like to help you in your struggle
To be free
There must be fifty ways
To leave your lover

She said it’s really not my habit
To intrude
Furthermore, I hope my meaning
Won’t be lost or misconstrued
But I’ll repeat myself
At the risk of being crude
There must be fifty ways
To leave your lover
Fifty ways to leave your lover

You just slip out the back, Jack
Make a new plan, Stan
You don’t need to be coy, Roy
Just get yourself free
Hop on the bus, Gus
You don’t need to discuss much
Just drop off the key, Lee
And get yourself free

She said it grieves me so
To see you in such pain
I wish there was something I could do
To make you smile again
I said I appreciate that
And would you please explain
About the fifty ways

She said why don’t we both
Just sleep on it tonight
And I believe in the morning
You’ll begin to see the light
And then she kissed me
And I realized she was probably right
There must be fifty ways
To leave your lover
Fifty ways to leave your lover

 

 

 

 

Simon and Garfunkel “Sound of Silence” in Central Park


Paul Simon
“Wednesday Morning 3A.M.”, 1964

The Sound of Silence

Hello darkness, my old friend,
I’ve come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone,
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp,
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence.

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more.
People talking without speaking,
People hearing without listening,
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dare
Disturb the sound of silence.

“Fools” said I, “You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows.
Hear my words that I might teach you,
Take my arms that I might reach you.”
But my words like silent raindrops fell,
And echoed
In the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made.
And the sign flashed out its warning,
In the words that it was forming.
And the sign said, “The words of the prophets
are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls.”
And whisper’d in the sounds of silence.

 

 

 

 

Paul Simon – Father and Daughter

If you leap awake
In the mirror of a bad dream
And for a fraction of a second
You cant remember where you are
Just open your window
And follow your memory upstream
To the meadow in the mountain
Where we counted every falling star

I believe the light that shines on you
Will shine on you forever
And though I cant guarantee
Theres nothing scary hiding under your bed
I’m gonna stand guard
Like a postcard of a Golden Retriever
And never leave till I leave you
With a sweet dream in your head

Im gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So youll always know
As long as one and one is two
There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you

Trust your intuition
Its just like going fishing
You cast your line
And hope you get a bite
But you dont need to waste your time
Worrying about the market place
Try to help the human race
Struggling to survive its harshest night

Im gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So youll always know
As long as one and one is two
There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you

Im gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So youll always know
As long as one and one is two
There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you

 

 

 

Paul Simon – The Only Living Boy in New York


Tom, get your plane ride on time
I know your part’ll go fine
Fly down to Mexico
Don-da-don oh don-da-don here I am
The only living boy in New York

I get the news I need on the weather report
Oh, I can gather all the news I need on the weather report
Hey, I’ve got nothing to do today but smile
Don-da-don oh don-da-don here I am
The only living boy in New York

Half of the time we’re gone but we don’t know where
We don’t know where
Here I am
Half of the time we’re gone but we don’t know where
We don’t know where

Tom, get your plane ride on time
I know that you’ll be able to fly now
Hey, let your honesty shine shine shine
Now don-da-don don-da-don
Like it shines on me
The only living boy in New York
The only living boy in New York

Here I am

 

 

 

 

Simon And Garfunkel The Boxer

I am just a poor boy, though my story?s seldom told.
I have squandered my resistance,
For a pocketful of mumbles, such are promises.
All lies and jest.
Still a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest.

When I left my home and my family I was no more than a boy,
In the company of strangers,
In the quiet of a railway station, runnin? scared.
Laying low, seeking out the poorer quarters,
Where the ragged people go.
Lookin? for the places, only they would know.

Lie-la-lie …

Asking only workman?s wages I come lookin? for a job,
But I get no offers,
Just a come-on from the whores on seventh avenue.
I do declare there were times when I was so lonesome,
I took some comfort there.
Oooh la, la, la …

And the years are rollin? by me.
They are rockin? evenly.
I am older than I once was, and younger than I?ll be.
That?s not unusual.
It isn?t strange,
After changes upon changes, we are more or less the same.
After changes, we are more or less the same.

Lie-la-lie …

Then I?m laying out my winter clothes and wishing I was gone,
Going home, where the new york city winters aren?t bleedin? me.
Leadin? me, to goin? home.

In the clearing stands a boxer and a fighter by his trade,
And he carries the reminders of every glove that laid him down,
Or cut him ?til he cried out in his anger and his shame,
“i am leaving, I am leaving.”
But the fighter still remains.

Lie-la-lie …

 

 

 

 

Paul Simon & Art Garfunkel – Bridge Over Troubled Water

When you’re weary
Feeling small
When tears are in your eyes
I will dry them all

I’m on your side
When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out
When you’re on the street
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you

I’ll take your part
When darkness comes
And pain is all around
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

Sail on Silver Girl,
Sail on by
Your time has come to shine
All your dreams are on their way

See how they shine
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind

 

 

 

Paul Simon – Kodachrome


When I think back
On all the crap I learned in high school
It’s a wonder
I can think at all
And though my lack of education
Hasn’t hurt me none
I can read the writing on the wall

Kodachrome
You give us those nice bright colors
You give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

If you took all the girls I knew
When I was single
And brought them all together for one night
I know they’d never match
My sweet imagination
And everything looks worse in black and white

Kodachrome
You give us those nice bright colors
You give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)

Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome
(Leave your boy so far from home)
Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)

 

 

 

 

Paul Simon – Still Crazy After All These Years

Words & music by paul simon

I met my old lover
On the street last night
She seemed so glad to see me
I just smiled
And we talked about some old times
And we drank ourselves some beers
Still crazy afler all these years
Oh, still crazy after all these years

I?m not the kind of man
Who tends to socialize
I seem to lean on
Old familiar ways
And I ain?t no fool for love songs
That whisper in my ears
Still crazy afler all these years
Oh, still crazy after all these years

Four in the morning
Crapped out, yawning
Longing my life a–way
I?ll never worry
Why should i?
It?s all gonna fade

Now I sit by my window
And I watch the cars
I fear I?ll do some damage
One fine day
But I would not be convicted
By a jury of my peers
Still crazy after all these years
Oh, still crazy
Still crazy
Still crazy after all these years

 

 

 

 

Simon and Garfunkel- America

“let us be lovers we?ll marry our fortunes together”
“i?ve got some real estate here in my bag”
So we bought a pack of cigarettes and mrs. wagner pies
And we walked off to look for america
“kathy,” I said as we boarded a greyhound in pittsburgh
“michigan seems like a dream to me now”
It took me four days to hitchhike from saginaw
I?ve gone to look for america

Laughing on the bus
Playing games with the faces
She said the man in the gabardine suit was a spy
I said “be careful his bowtie is really a camera”

“toss me a cigarette, I think there?s one in my raincoat”
“we smoked the last one an hour ago”
So I looked at the scenery, she read her magazine
And the moon rose over an open field

“kathy, I?m lost,” I said, though I knew she was sleeping
I?m empty and aching and I don?t know why
Counting the cars on the new jersey turnpike
They?ve all gone to look for america
All gone to look for america
All gone to look for america

 

 

 

 

Simon & Garfunkel – Mrs. Robinson

And here’s to you, Mrs. Robinson,
Jesus loves you more than you will know (Wo wo wo).
God bless you, please, Mrs. Robinson,
Heaven holds a place for those who pray (Hey hey hey, hey hey hey).

We’d like to know
A little bit about you
For our files.
We’d like to help you learn
To help yourself.
Look around you. All you see
Are sympathetic eyes.
Stroll around the grounds
Until you feel at home.

And here’s to you, Mrs. Robinson,
Jesus loves you more than you will know (Wo wo wo).
God bless you, please, Mrs. Robinson,
Heaven holds a place for those who pray (Hey hey hey, hey hey hey).

Hide it in a hiding place
Where no one ever goes.
Put it in you pantry with your cupcakes.
It’s a little secret,
Just the Robinsons’ affair.
Most of all, you’ve got to hide it
from the kids.

Coo coo ca-choo, Mrs. Robinson,
Jesus loves you more than you will know (Wo wo wo).
God bless you, please, Mrs. Robinson,
Heaven holds a place for those who pray (Hey hey hey, hey hey hey).

Sitting on a sofa
On a Sunday afternoon,
Going to the candidates’ debate,
Laugh about it,
Shout about it,
When you’ve got to choose,
Every way you look at it, you lose.

Where have you gone, Joe DiMaggio?
A nation turns its lonely eyes to you (Wo wo wo).
What’s that you say, Mrs. Robinson?
“Joltin’ Joe has left and gone away” (Hey hey hey, hey hey hey).

 

 

 

 

Simon & Garfunkel – Homeward Bound

?m sitting in the railway station.
Got a ticket to my destination.
On a tour of one-night stands my suitcase and guitar in hand.
And ev?ry stop is neatly planned for a poet and a one-man band.
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought?s escaping,
Home where my music?s playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.
Ev?ry day?s an endless stream
Of cigarettes and magazines.
And each town looks the same to me, the movies and the factories
And ev?ry stranger?s face I see reminds me that I long to be,
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought?s escaping,
Home where my music?s playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.

Tonight I?ll sing my songs again,
I?ll play the game and pretend.
But all my words come back to me in shades of mediocrity
Like emptiness in harmony I need someone to comfort me.
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought?s escaping,
Home where my music?s playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.
Silently for me.

 

 

 

 

Simon & Garfunkel – Old Friends

Old friends, old friends,
Sat on their parkbench like bookends
A newspaper blown through the grass
Falls on the round toes
of the high shoes of the old friends

Old friends, winter companions, the old men
Lost in their overcoats, waiting for the sunset
The sounds of the city sifting through trees
Settle like dust on the shoulders of the old friends.

Can you imagine us years from today,
Sharing a parkbench quietly
How terribly strange to be seventy

Old friends, memory brushes the same years,
Silently sharing the same fears

 

 

 

 

Simon and Garfunkel – Are you going to Scarborough Fair


Are you going to Scarborough Fair? Parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme.
Remember me to one who lives there, she once was a true love of mine.

Tell her to make me a cambric shirt.
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme.
Without no seams nor needlework.
Then she’ll be a true love of mine.

Tell her to find me an acre of land.
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme.
Between the salt water and the sea strands.
Then she’ll be a true love of mine.

Tell her to reap it in a sickle of leather.
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme.
And to gather it all in a bunch of heather.
Then she’ll be a true love of mine.

Are you going to Scarborough Fair? Parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme.
Remember me to one who lives there, she once was a true love of mine.

