Wiki on Eva Cassidy

Eva Cassidy Fields Of Gold @ Blues Alley


You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Among the fields of barley
You can tell the sun in his jealous sky
When we walked in fields of gold

So she took her love for to gaze awhile
Among the fields of barley
In his arms she fell as her hair came down
Among the fields of gold

Will you stay with me will you be my love
Among the fields of barley
And you can tell the sun in his jealous sky
When we walked in fields of gold

I never made promises lightly
And there have been some that I’ve broken
But I swear in the days still left
We will walk in fields of gold
We’ll walk in fields of gold

I never made promises lightly
And there have been some that I’ve broken
But I swear in the days still left
We will walk in fields of gold
We’ll walk in fields of gold

Many years have passed since those summer days
Among the fields of barley
See the children run as the sun goes down
As you lie in fields of gold

You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Among the fields of barley
You can tell the sun in his jealous sky
When we walked in fields of gold
When we walked in fields of gold
When we walked in fields of gold

Eva Cassidy – over the rainbow

Somewhere over the rainbow- way
up high
in the land
that I heard of once
Once in a lullaby

Somewhere over the rainbow- skies
are blue
and the dreams
that you dare to dream
really do come true

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
and wake up
where the clouds are far behind me
Where troubles melt like lemon drops
away above the chimney tops
that’s where you’ll find me

(Instrumental)

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
and wake up
where the clouds are far behind me
Where troubles melt like lemon drops
away above the chimney tops
that’s where you’ll find me

Somewhere over the rainbow
skies are blue
and the dreams…that you dare to dream
really do come true
If happy little bluebirds fly
above the rainbow, why
Oh, why can’t I?

Eva Cassidy – Songbird

For you there’ll be no crying
For you the sun will be shining
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you
It’s alright, I know it’s right

And the songbirds keep singing
Like they know the score
And I love you, I love you, I love you
Like never before

To you, I would give the world
To you, I’d never be cold
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you
It’s alright, I know it’s right

And the songbirds keep singing
Like they know the score
And I love you, I love you, I love you
Like never before

Like never before; like never before.

Wade in the Water (Eva Cassidy)

Refrain:
Wade in the Water
Wade in the Water, children
wade in the Wate
God’s gonna trouble the Water

Who’s that yonder dressed in red
Wade in the Water
Must be the Children that Moses led
And God’s gonna trouble the Water

Refrain

Who’s that yonder dressed in white
Wade in the Water
Must be the Children of the Israelites
God’s gonna trouble the Water

Refrain

Who’s that yonder dressed in blue
Wade in the Water
Must be Children coming through
And God’s gonna trouble the Water

Refrain

If you don’t believe I’ve been redeemed
Wade in the Water
Just see the holy ghost looking for me
God’s gonna trouble the Water

time after time – Eva Cassidy

Lying in my bed I hear the clock tick,
And think of you
Caught up in circles confusion–
Is nothing new
Flashback–warm nights–
Almost left behind
Suitcases of memories,
Time after–

Sometimes you picture me–
I’m walking too far ahead
You’re calling to me, I can’t hear
What you’ve said–
Then you say–go slow–
I fall behind–
The second hand unwinds

Chorus:
If you’re lost you can look–and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you–I’ll be waiting
Time after time

After my picture fades and darkness has
Turned to gray
Watching through windows–you’re wondering
If I’m OK
Secrets stolen from deep inside
The drum beats out of time–

Chorus:
If you’re lost…
You said go slow–
I fall behind
The second hand unwinds–

Chorus:
If you’re lost……Time after time
Time after time ,Time after time,Time after time

Eva Cassidy – People Get Ready

People get ready
There’s a train a-coming
You don’t need no baggage
You just get on board
All you need is faith
To hear diesels humming
You don’t need no ticket
You just thank the Lord
Yeah yeah yeah

People get ready
For the train to Jordan
Picking up passengers
From coast to coast
Faith is the key
Open the doors and board them
There’s room for all
Among the loved and lost

Now there ain’t no room
For the hopeless sinner
Who抯 hard on mankind
Just to save his own
Have pity on those
Whose chances are thinner
Cause there’s no hiding place
From the Kingdom’s Throne

Ohh people get ready
There’s a train a-coming
You don’t need no baggage
You just get on board
All you need is faith
To hear diesels a- humming
You don’t need no ticket
You just thank the Lord
Yeah yeah yeah

I’m getting ready
I – I’m ready yeah yeah yeah
Oh I’m getting ready oh – oh
I’m ready yeah

Eva Cassidy – Autumn Leaves

Artist: Eva Cassidy
English Lyrics by Johnny Mercer and Music by Joseph Kosma

The falling leaves drift by my window
The falling leaves of red and gold
I see your lips, the summer kisses
The sunburned hands I used to hold

Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

(Instrumental for 1 minute)

Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

Bridge Over Troubled Water – Eva Cassidy

When you’re weary, feeling small
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all;
I’m on your side. When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out,
When you’re on the street,
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you.
I’ll take your part.
When darkness comes
Friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

Sail on silvergirl
Sail on by.
Your time has come to shine.
All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine.
Oh,If you need a friend
When I’m standing right behind
Like a bridge over troubled water.
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

Eva Cassidy – what a wonderful world

I see trees that are green red roses to
I watch them bloom for me and you
And I think to my self what a wonderful world

I hear babies cry and I watch them grow
And they learn much more then I ever now
And I think to my self oh what a wonderful world

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of the people passing by
I see friends shaking hands saying “how do you do?”
But they really say I love you

I see trees that are green and red roses to
I watch them bloom for me and you
And I think to my self oh what a wonderful world

Instrumental solo

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of the people passing by
I see friends shaking hands saying “how do you do?”
But they really say I love you

I see trees of green and red roses to
I watch them bloom for me and you
And I think to my self what a wonderful world

I think to myself oooh what a wonderful world

Eva Cassidy – cheek to cheek

Heaven, I’m in heaven
and my heart beats so that I can hardly speak
And I seem to find the happiness I seek
When we’re out together dancing cheek to cheek

Oh, heaven, I’m in heaven
and the cares that hung around me through the week
Seem to vanish like a gambler’s lucky streak
When we’re out together dancing cheek to cheek

Oh, I love to go out fishing
in an ocean or a creek
But it wouldn’t thrill me half as much as
dancing cheek to cheek

Oh, I love to climb a mountain
and reach the highest peak
But it wouldn’t thrill me half as much as
dancing cheek to cheek

Won’t you come and dance with me
I want my arms about you
The charms about you
will carry me through
To heaven, I’m in heaven
The cares that hung around me through the week
Seem to vanish like a gambler’s lucky streak
When we’re out together dancing cheek to cheek
Oh, won’t you come and dance with me
I want my arms about you
The charms about you
will carry me through
To heaven, I’m in heaven
The cares that hung around me through the week
seem to vanish like a gambler’s lucky streak
Oh, when we’re out together
out together
When we’re out together
dancing cheek to cheek

Eva Cassidy – you’ve changed

You’ve Changed

You’ve changed that sparkle in your eye is gone
Your smile is just a careless yawn
It’s all over now you’ve changed
You’ve changed; your kisses now are so blasé
You’re bored with me in everyway
Your breaking my heart you’ve changed
You’ve forgotten the words I love you
Each memory that we share
You ignore every star above you
I can’t realise that you ever cared
You’ve changed
You’re not the angel I once knew
No need to tell me that we’re through
It’s all over now you’ve changed
You’ve forgotten the words I love you
Each memory that we share
You ignore every star above you
I can’t realise that you ever cared
You’ve changed the sparkle in your eye is gone
And your smile is just a careless yawn
It’s all over now
You’ve changed; yes it’s all over now
You’ve changed

Eva Cassidy – tall trees in Georgia

Tall trees in Georgia,
They grow so high
They shade me so
And sadly walking
Through the thicket I go

The sweetest love I ever had
I left aside
Because I did not want
To be any man’s bride
But now I’m older
And married I would be
I found my sweetheart
But he would not marry me

When I was younger
The boys all came around
But now I’m older
And they’ve all settled down
Control your mind my girl
And give your heart to one
For if you love all men
You’ll be surely left with none

Tall trees in Georgia,
They grow so high
They shade me so
And sadly walking
Through the thicket I go

Danny Boy by Eva Cassidy

Oh Danny Boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling.
From glen to glen and down the mountain side.
The summer’s gone, and all the flowers dying.
‘Tis you, ’tis you must go, and I must bide.

But come ye back when summer’s in the meadow,
or when the valley’s hushed and white with snow.
‘Tis I’ll be here in sunshine or in shadow.
Oh Danny Boy, oh Danny Boy, I love you so.

But when ye come and all the roses falling,
and I am dead, as dead I well may be,
Go out and find the place where I am lying,
And kneel and say an Ave there for me.

And I will hear tho’ soft your tread above me,
and then my grave will warm and sweeter be.
For you shall bend and tell me that you love me,
And I will sleep in peace until you come to me.

Eva Cassidy – Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain

Eva Cassidy – Dark End of The Street

Eva Cassidy-True Colours

You with the sad eyes
Don’t be discouraged
Oh I realize
It’s hard to take courage
In a world full of people
You can lose sight of it all
And the darkness there inside you
Can make you feel so small

But I see your true colors
Shining through
See your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful,
Like a rainbow

Show me a smile then,
Don’t be unhappy, can’t remember when I last saw you laugh
If this world makes you crazy
And you’ve taken all you can bear
You call me up
Because you know I’ll be there

And I see your true colors
Shining through
See your true colors
That’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful,
Like a rainbow

Ohhhh
I can’t remember when I last saw you laugh
If this world makes you crazy
And you’ve taken all you can bear
You call me up
Because you know I’ll be there

And I see your true colors
Shining through
See your true colors
That’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful,
Like a rainbow

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine there’s no heaven,
It’s easy if you try,
No hell below us,
Above us only sky,
Imagine all the people
living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries,
It isn’t hard to do,
Nothing to kill or die for,
And no religion too,
Imagine all the people
living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer,
but I’m not the only one,
I hope some day you’ll join us,
and the world will live as one.

Imagine no possessions,
I wonder if you can,
No need for greed or hunger,
Or brotherhood of man,
Imagine all the people
sharing all the world…

You! You may say I’m a dreamer,
but I’m not the only one,
I hope some day you’ll join us,
and the world will live as one.

You may say I’m a dreamer,
but I’m not the only one,
I hope some day you’ll join us,
and the world will live as one.

