Rodney Atkins – Watching You

Written By: Rodney Atkins, Steve Dean, Brian White

Driving through town just my boy and me
With a happy meal in his booster seat
Knowing that he couldn’t have the toy
Till his nuggets were gone
Green traffic light turned straight to red
I hit my breaks and mumbled under my breath
As fries went a flying and his orange drink covered his lap
Well then my four year old said a four letter word
That started with “s” and I was concerned
So I said son now where did you learn to talk like that

Chorus one

He said I’ve been watching you dad, ain’t that cool
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are
We got cowboy boots and camo pants
Yeah we’re just alike, hey ain’t we dad
I wanna do everything you do
So I’ve been watching you

We got back home and I went to the barn
I bowed my head and I prayed real hard
Said lord please help me help my stupid self
Then this side of bedtime later that night
Turning on my son’s scooby doo nightlight
He crawled out of bed and he got down on his knees
He closed his little eyes, folded his little hands
And spoke to god like he was talking to a friend
And I said son where’d you learn to pray like that

Chorus two

He said I’ve been watching you dad, ain’t that cool
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are
We like fixing things and holding mama’s hand
Yeah we’re just alike, hey ain’t we dad
I wanna do everything you do
So I’ve been watching you

Bridge

With tears in my eyes I wrapped him in a hug
Said my little bear is growing up
He said but when I’m big I’ll still know what to do

Chorus three

Cause I’ve been watching you dad, ain’t that cool
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are
Then I’ll be as strong as you and superman
We’ll be just alike, hey won’t we dad
When I can do everything you do

These Are My People

Written by Dave Berg and Rivers Rutherford

Well we grew up down by the railroad tracks
Shootin’ b.b.’s at old beer cans
Chokin’ on the smoke from a lucky strike
Someone lifted off of his old man
We were football flunkies
Rock and roll junkies
Crackin’ up the stereos
Singin’ loud and proud to gimme three steps
And that old time rock and roll

We got some discount knowledge at the junior college
Where we majored in beer and girls
It was all real funny ’til we ran out of money
And they threw us out into the world
Yeah the kids that thought they’d run this town
Ain’t runnin’ much of anything
We’re just lovin’ and laughin’
And bustin’ our asses
And we call it all livin’ the dream

Chorus

These are my people
This is where I come from
We’re givin’ this life everything we’ve got and then some
It ain’t always pretty
But it’s real
That’s the way we were made
Wouldn’t have it any other way
These are my people

Well we take it all week on the chin with a grin
Till we make it to a friday night
And it’s church league softball holler ’bout a bad call
Preacher breakin’ up the fight
Then later on at the green light tavern
Well everybody’s gatherin’ as friends
And the beer is pourin’ till monday mornin’
Where we start all over again

Chorus

We fall down and we get up
We walk proud and we talk tough
We got heart and we got nerve
Even if we are a bit disturbed
Rodney Atkins—Cleaning this Gun (Come on in Boy)

Rodney Atkins – Honesty

He said: “Just think it over, and write me a list,
“So we can figure out what we both deserve.”
She hardly could believe it, that their love had come to this:
Dividing an’ deciding his and hers.
But she grabbed a paper napkin, an’ asked the waitress for a pen.
An’ one by one, she wrote down what she wanted most from him.

“Honesty, sincerity, tenderness and trust.
“A little less time for the rest of the world,
“And more for the two of us.
“Kisses each mornin’, ‘I love you’s’ at night,
“Just like it used to be.
“The way life was when you were in love with me.”

She reached across the table an’ placed it in his hand,
An’ said: “You know this isn’t easy for me.”
As he thought about the new car, the house an’ the land,
An’ wondered what that bottom line would be.
An’ a thousand other things that she’d want him to leave behind,
But he never dreamed he’d open up that napkin and find:

“Honesty, sincerity, tenderness and trust.
“A little less time for the rest of the world,
“And more for the two of us.
“Kisses each mornin’, ‘I love you’s’ at night,
“Just like it used to be.
“The way life was when you were in love with me.”

Well, he fought back the tears, as he looked in her eyes,
An’ said: “I don’t know where to start.”
An’ she said: “Everything on that list in your hand,
“Is hidden somewhere in your heart.

“Honesty, sincerity, just like it used to be.
“The way life was when you were in love with me.”

Rodney Atkins About the south

(Rodney Atkins)

Fried pickles, drunk chicken, craw fishing in the creek
Wild turkey, deer jerky tough as Tarzan’s feet
Hot women skinny swimmin’, barely belly button deep
Turn muddy river water into sweet, sweet tea
Hayloft lovin’ in the holler behind the house
No doubt about what I love about the south

Loretta lynn, maker’s mark, that’s Kentucky as can be
Jack Daniels, Dolly Parton, oh the hills of Tennessee
Finger pickin’, bluegrass blowing in the wind around here
We believe the book of john and we drive John Deeres
The devil came to Georgia, Mr. Daniels showed him out
No doubt about it what I love about the south

Chorus

What I love about the south
If you need a Dixie Fix just come on down
That’s what I love about the south
Southern bells with a drawl
Make you stop and drop your jaw
Come on ya’ll shut your mouth
That’s what I love about the south

Grew up down here and it’s where I’ll grow my kids
Old McDonald had a daughter, get her done got her did
Corn grows in rows on a cob but it flows from a jar
In a rocky top bar
A little fountain from the mountain
Even made the possum shout
That’s what I love about the south

