Wiki on John Michael 

  1. “Be My Baby Tonight” (Richard Fagan, Ed Hill) – 2:51
  2. “Sold (The Grundy County Auction Incident)” (Fagan, Robb Royer) – 2:31
  3. “Life’s a Dance” (Allen Shamblin, Steve Seskin) – 3:09
  4. “I Swear” (Gary Baker, Frank J. Myers) – 4:25
  5. “The Little Girl” (Harley Allen) – 3:53
  6. “If You’ve Got Love” (Mark D. Sanders, Seskin) – 3:55
  7. “I Love the Way You Love Me” (Chuck Cannon, Victoria Shaw) – 4:02
  8. “Cover You in Kisses” (Jess Brown, Jerry Kilgore, Brett Jones) – 3:55
  9. “Rope the Moon” (Jim Denton, Aggie Brown, J. Brown) – 4:07
  10. “I Can Love You Like That” (Steve Diamond, Maribeth Derry, Jennifer Kimball) – 3:54
  11. “How Was I to Know” (Will Rambeaux, Blair Daly) – 4:17
  12. “Hold on to Me” (Rambeaux, Daly) – 4:11
  13. “No Man’s Land” (John Scott Sherrill, Seskin) – 4:11
  14. “Home to You” (Arlos Smith, Sara Light) – 3:30
  15. “Friends” (Jerry Holland) – 3:53
  16. “Angel in My Eyes” (Daly, Tony Mullins) – 3:32
  17. “Long As I Live” (Rick Bowles, Will Robinson) – 4:15
  18. “‘Til Nothing Comes Between Us” (Rebecca Marshall, Kerry Harvick, Tony Marty) – 4:44
  19. “Cool” (Allen, Brice Long) – 3:38
  20. “One Day Less” (Tom Douglas, Josh Leo, Stan Lynch) – 3:29

========================================

John Michael Montgomery – Letters From Home

My dearest son it’s almost June
I hope this letter catches up with you, and finds you well
it’s been dry but they’re calling for rain
and everything’s the same old same, in Johnsonville
your stubborn old daddy ain’t said too much
but I’m sure you know he sends his love
and she goes on, in a letter from home
I hold it up and show my buddies
like we ain’t scared and are boots ain’t muddy
and they all laugh like there’s something funny bout the way I talk
when I say momma sends her best y’all
I fold it up and put it in my shirt
pick up my gun and get back to work
and it keeps me drivin’ on
waitin’ on, letters from home

My dearest love it’s almost dawn
I been lying here all night long
wonderin’ where you might be
I saw your momma and I showed her the ring
man on the television said some things, so I couldn’t sleep
but I’ll be all right I’m just missin’ you
and this is me kissing you
X’s and O’s, in a letter from home
I hold it up and show my buddies
like we ain’t scared and are boots ain’t muddy
and they all laugh cause she calls me honey
but they take it hard, cause I don’t read the good parts
I fold it up and put it in my shirt
pick up my gun and get back to work
and it keeps me drivin’ on
waitin on, letters from home

Dear son I know I ain’t written
and sitting here tonight alone in the kitchen it occurs to me
I might not have said it so I’ll say it now
son you make me proud
I hold it up and show my buddies
like we ain’t scared and are boots ain’t muddy
but no one laughs, cause there ain’t nothing funny when a soldier cries
and I just wipe my eyes
I fold it up and put it in my shirt
pick up my gun and get back to work
and it keeps me drivin’ on
waitin on, letters from home

========================================

 

1 “Be My Baby Tonight” (Richard Fagan, Ed Hill) – 2:51

I know you’ve heard that worn out line
About love at first sight
Well I never knew those words were true
Till you walked in tonight
All it took was just one look
To knock me off my feet
I’m not a man of many words
So I’ll make this short and sweet

Could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight
Yeah I’d take a chance slow dance make a little romance
Honey it’ll be alright
Girl you got me wishin’ we were huggin’ and a kissin’ and a holdin’ each other tight
So could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight

I’m not tryin to come on like
Some rhinestone romeo
I’m a lookin’ for a whole lot more
Than a one night rodeo
What can I do to prove to you
I’m a layin’ it on the line
I’ll even get down on my knees
Just to beg you one more time

Girl could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight
Yeah I’d take a chance slow dance make a little romance
Honey it’ll be alright
Girl you got me wishin we were huggin and a kissin and a holdin each other tight
So could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight

Girl could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight
Yeah I’d take a chance slow dance make a little romance
Honey it’ll be alright
Girl you got me wishin’ we were huggin’ and a kissin’ and a holdin’ each other tight
So could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight
Could ya would ya ain’t ya gonna if I asked you
Would ya wanna be my baby tonight

2 “Sold” (The Grundy County Auction Incident)” (Fagan, Robb Royer) – 2:31

Well I went down to the Grundy County Auction
Where I saw something I just had to have
My mind told me I should proceed with caution
But my heart said, “Go ahead an’ make a bid on that!”

An’ I said, hey, pretty lady, won’cha gi’me a sign
I’d give anything to make you mine all mine
I’ll do your biddin’ an’ be at your beckon call
Yeah, I never seen anyone lookin’ so fine
Man, I gotta have her, she’s a one-of-a-kind
I’m goin’ once, goin’ twice,
I’m sold! On the lady in the second row
She’s an eight, she’s a nine, she’s a ten, I know
She’s got ruby red lips, blond hair, blue eyes
An’ I’m about to bid my heart good-bye!

Well, the auctioneer was goin’ about a mile a minute
He was takin’ bids an’ callin’ them out loud
An’ I guess I was really gettin’ in it
‘Cause I just shouted out above the crowd!

An’ I said, hey, pretty lady, won’cha gi’me a sign
I’d give anything to make you mine all mine
I’ll do your biddin’ an’ be at your beckon call
Yeah, I never seen anyone lookin’ so fine
Man, I gotta have her, she’s a one-of-a-kind
I’m goin’ once, goin’ twice,
I’m sold! On the lady in the long black dress
Well she won my heart it was no contest
With her ruby red lips, blond hair, blue eyes
Well I’m about to bid my heart good-bye!

Yeah, we found love on the auction block
An’ I hauled her heart away
Now we still love to laugh about
The way we met that day

When I said, hey, pretty lady, won’cha gi’me a sign
I’d give anything to make you mine all mine
I’ll do your biddin’ an’ be at your beckon call
Yeah, I never seen anyone lookin’ so fine
Man, I gotta have her, she’s a one-of-a-kind
I’m goin’ once, goin’ twice,
I’m sold! On the lady in the second row
She’s an eight, she’s a nine, she’s a ten, I know
Shes’s got ruby red lips, blond hair blue eyes
An’ I’m about to bid my heart good-bye!

3 “Life’s a Dance” (Allen Shamblin, Steve Seskin) – 3:09

When I was fourteen I was falling fast
For a blue eyed girl in my homeroom class
Trying to find the courage to ask her out
Was like trying to get oil from a waterspout
What she would have said I can’t say
I never did ask and she moved away
But I learned something from my blue eyed girl
Sink or swim you gotta give it a whirl

Life’s a dance you learn as you go
Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow
Don’t worry about what you don’t know
Life’s a dance you learn as you go

The longer I live the more I believe
You do have to give if you wanna recieve
There’s a time to listen, a time to talk
And you might have to crawl even after you walk
Had sure things blow up in my face
Seen the longshot, win the race
Been knocked down by the slamming door
Picked myself up and came back for more

Life’s a dance you learn as you go
Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow
Don’t worry about what you don’t know
Life’s a dance you learn as you go

Life’s a dance you learn as you go
Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow
Don’t worry about what you don’t know
Life’s a dance you learn as you go
Life’s a dance you learn as you go
Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow
Don’t worry about what you don’t know
Life’s a dance you learn as you go

Life’s a dance
Life’s a dance
Life’s a dance
Take a chance on love
Life’s a dance
You learn as you go

 

4 “I Swear” (Gary Baker, Frank J. Myers) – 4:25

I see the questions in your eyes
I know what’s weighing on your mind
That you can be sure I know my heart

`Coz I’ll stand beside you through the years
You’ll only cry those happy tears
And though I make mistakes
I’ll never break your heart

I swear by the moon and the stars in the sky
I’ll be there
I swear like a shadow that’s by your side
I’ll be there

For better or worse, till death do us part
I’ll love you with every beat of my heart
I swear

I’ll give you everything I can
I’ll build your dreams with these two hands
We’ll hang some memories on the walls

And when just the two of us are there
You won’t have to ask if I still care
`Coz as the time turns the page, my love won’t age at all

I swear by the moon and the stars in the sky
I’ll be there
I swear like the shadow that’s by your side
I’ll be there

For better or worse, till death do us part
I’ll love you with every beat of my heart
I swear

I swear by the moon and stars in the sky
I’ll be there
I swear like the shadow that’s by your side
I’ll be there

For better or worse, till death do us part
I’ll love you with every beat of my heart
I swear, I swear

 

5 “The Little Girl” (Harley Allen) – 3:53


Her parents never took the young girl to church
Never spoke of His name
Never read her His word
Two non-believers walking lost in this world
Took their baby with them
What a sad little girl

Her daddy drank all day and mommy did drugs
Never wanted to play
Or give kisses and hugs
She’d watch the TV and sit there on the couch
While her mom fell asleep
And her daddy went out

And the drinking and the fighting
just got worse every night
Behind their couch she’d be hiding
Oh what a sad little life
And like it always does, the bad just got worse
With every slap and every curse
Until her daddy in a drunk rage one night
Used a gun on her mom and then took his life

And some people from the city took the girl far away
To a new mom and a new dad
kisses and hugs everyday
Her first day of Sunday school the teacher walked in
And a small little girl
Stared at a picture of Him

She said I know that man up there on that cross
I don’t know His name
But I know He got off
Cause He was there in my old house
and held me close to His side
As I hid there behind our couch
The night that my parents died

6 “If You’ve Got Love” (Mark D. Sanders, Seskin) – 3:55

 

7 “I Love the Way You Love Me” (Chuck Cannon, Victoria Shaw) – 4:02

I like the feel of your name on my lips
And I like the sound of your sweet gentle kiss
The way that your fingers run through my hair
And how your scent lingers even when you’re not there
And I like the way your eyes dance when you laugh
And how you enjoy your two hour bath
And how you convinced me to dance in the rain
With everyone watching like we were insane

CHORUS
But I love the way you love me
Strong and wild
Slow and easy
Heart and soul
So completely
I Love the way you love me

I like to imitate ol’ Jerry Lee
And the cue of your eyes
When I’m slightly off key
And I like the innocent way that you cry
At sappy old movies you’ve seen hundreds of times

CHORUS

And I could list a million things
I love to like about you
But they all come to one reason
I could never live without you

I love the way you love me
Strong and wild
Slow and easy
Heart and soul
So completely
I love the way you love me

Oh Baby, I love the way you love me

 

8 “Cover You in Kisses” (Jess Brown, Jerry Kilgore, Brett Jones) – 3:55

9 “Rope the Moon” (Jim Denton, Aggie Brown, J. Brown) – 4:07

I don’t have a lot to show
For these years of hard work
If you look at what I own
Still she’s always telling me
To hold on to my dreams
Even when my hope is gone
Some may say that dreaming’s just for fools
And there are times I thought that might be true

But she thinks I could rope the moon
In her eyes there is nothing I can’t do
When I think it’s out of reach
She’s the reason I still try
She thinks I could rope the moon

When I look at the sky
But can’t see through the clouds
She shows me the brightest stars
If I think of coming back
‘Cause I’m having my doubts
She tells me I’ve come so far
Nothing in this world comes easily
But I can’t lose with her right next to me

‘Cause she thinks I could rope the moon
In her eyes there is nothing I can’t do
When I think it’s out of reach
She’s the reason I still try
She thinks I could rope the moon
Oh she thinks I could rope the moon

10 “I Can Love You Like That” (Steve Diamond, Maribeth Derry, Jennifer Kimball) – 3:54

They read you Cinderella
You hoped it would come true
That one day your Prince Charming
Would come rescue you
You like romantic movies
You never will forget
The way you felt when Romeo kissed Juliet
All this time that you’ve been waiting
You don’t have to wait no more

I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
If you give me a chance
I can love you like that

I never make a promise I don’t intend to keep
So when I say forever, forever’s what I mean
I’m no Casanova but I swear this much is true
I’ll be holdin’ nothin’ back when it comes to you
You dream of love that’s everlasting
Well baby open up your eyes

I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
If you give me a chance
I can love you like that

You want tenderness-I got tenderness
And I see through to the heart of you
If you want a man who understands
You don’t have to look very far

I can love you
I can
I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl

11 “How Was I to Know” (Will Rambeaux, Blair Daly) – 4:17

Well I hoped and I prayed, I loved you from afar
I cried, and I dreamed, wished on every star
But nothin’ I’d do got me closer to you
So I locked all my feelings inside

Then one night across a crowded room
You looked my way, your eyes held something new
You walked right up to me and smiled tenderly
And your words came as such a surprise

Well how was I to know
You never let it show
What a beauty like you might see
In a poor boy like me
How could I have seen
You walk out of my dreams
Shine your light on my sleepin’ heart
And into my soul
How was I to know

You took my hand and led me out the door
We talked and we laughed
‘Bout all the times before
When two lonely people so much in love
Passed like ships in the night

Well how was I to know
You never let it show
What a beauty like you might see
In a poor boy like me
How could I have seen
You walk out of my dreams
Shine your light on my sleepin’ heart
And into my soul
How was I to know

How could I have seen
You walk out of my dreams
Shine your light on my sleepin’ heart
And into my soul
How was I
How was I to know

Oooh
Oooh
Ooooooooh Oh Oh

 

12 “Hold on to Me” (Rambeaux, Daly) – 4:11

I wanna wake up each morning
With you for the rest of my life
I wanna feel your heart beating
And just get lost in your eyes
You can tell me your secrets
You can let me feel your pain
You can show me your weakness
And never be ashamed

Hold on to me when your world’s turnin’ cold
When it feels like your life’s spinnin’ out of control
You’re hopin’, prayin’, tryin’ so hard to believe
Hold on to me when there’s no middle ground
And every emotion is comin’ unwound
And you don’t know if you can hold on to your dreams
Baby you can hold on to me

I wanna lay down each evenin’
With you right here by my side
I wanna get drunk on your laughter
And wipe all the tears when you cry
You can scare me with your darkness
You can blind me with your light
Throw your worries out the window baby
On your wildest night

Hold on to me when your world’s turnin’ cold
When it feels like your life’s spinnin’ out of control
You’re hopin’, prayin’, tryin’ so hard to believe
Hold on to me when there’s no middle ground
And every emotion is comin’ unwound
And you don’t know if you can hold on to your dreams
Baby you can hold on to me

Hold on to me when there’s no middle ground
And every emotion is comin’ unwound
And you don’t know if you can hold on to your dreams
Baby you can hold on I said
Baby you can hold on I said
Baby you can hold on to me

 

13 “No Man’s Land” (John Scott Sherrill, Seskin) – 4:11

 

14 “Home to You” (Arlos Smith, Sara Light) – 3:30

John michael montgomery
Verse 1.
I get up and battle the day
Things don’t always go my way
It might rain but that’s okay
I get to come home to you

Verse 2.
Sometimes life may get me down
And I get tired of getting kicked around
I feel lost in this maddening crowd
But I get to come home to you

Chorus:
You are my best friend
And you are where my heart is
And I know at the day’s end
I get to come home to you

Verse 3.
Hanging out in our old sweatshirts
You let me complain about a hard day’s work
I don’t know what I did to deserve
To get to come home to you

(repeat chorus 2 times)

Ending:
Yes I get to come home to you
Oh I love coming home to you

 

I Can Love You Like That

They read you Cinderella
You hoped it would come true
That one day your Prince Charming
Would come rescue you
You like romantic movies
You never will forget
The way you felt when Romeo kissed Juliet
All this time that you’ve been waiting
You don’t have to wait no more

I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
If you give me a chance
I can love you like that

I never make a promise I don’t intend to keep
So when I say forever, forever’s what I mean
I’m no Casanova but I swear this much is true
I’ll be holdin’ nothin’ back when it comes to you
You dream of love that’s everlasting
Well baby open up your eyes

I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
If you give me a chance
I can love you like that

You want tenderness-I got tenderness
And I see through to the heart of you
If you want a man who understands
You don’t have to look very far

I can love you
I can
I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl
I will give you my heart
Be all that you need
Show you you’re everything that’s precious to me
I can love you like that
I would make you my world
Move Heaven and Earth if you were my girl

 

15 “Friends” (Jerry Holland) – 3:53

You say you want to be friends
That’s a newly sharpened blade
That’s a dagger to the heart
Of the promises we made
That’s a chapter full of pain
A season full of rain
A dark and stormy night
Spent all alone

Friends
Get scattered by the wind
Tossed upon the waves
Lost for years on end
Friends
Slowly drift apart
They give away their hearts
Maybe call you
Now and then
But you wanna be
Just friends

You say you love me very much
And you’ll always hold me dear
Those are the sweetest words
I never want to hear
What’s a love without desire
A flame without a fire
Can’t warm me late at night
When I need you most

Friends
Get scattered by the wind
Tossed upon the waves
Lost for years on end
Friends
Slowly drift apart
They give away their hearts
Maybe call you
Now and then
But you wanna be
Just friends

Friends
Slowly drift apart
They give away their hearts
Maybe call you
Now and then
Darling can’t you see
This is killing me
We could never be
Just friends

 

16 “Angel in My Eyes” (Daly, Tony Mullins) – 3:32

I watch her lyin’ in bed asleep,
And I thank my lucky stars,
For every second she’s here with me,
I wanna hold her in my arms,
She is my day,
She is my night,
She is the breath that gives me life,
But Sometimes we laugh,
And Sometimes we cry,
Sometimes we fight and we don’t know why,
But no matter what she believes in me,
She’s the closest thing to Heaven,
I’ll ever see,
She always be an angel in my eyes,
Sometimes I feel her by my side,
Like she’s watchin’ over me,
I get a chill runnin’ down my spine,
And that’s all the proof I need,
That she fills my heart,
She fills my soul,
She is the half that makes me whole,
Well Sometimes we laugh,
And Sometimes we cry,
Sometimes we fight and we don’t know why,
But no matter what she believes in me,
She’s the closest thing to Heaven,
I’ll ever see,
She always be an angel in my eyes,
Well Sometimes we laugh,
And Sometimes we cry,
Sometimes we fight and we don’t know why,
But no matter what she believes in me,
She’s the closest thing to Heaven,
I’ll ever see,
She always be,
She always be,
She always be, An angel in my eyes

 

17 “Long As I Live” (Rick Bowles, Will Robinson) – 4:15

18 “‘Til Nothing Comes Between Us” (Rebecca Marshall, Kerry Harvick, Tony Marty) – 4:44

19 “Cool” (Allen, Brice Long) – 3:38

20 “One Day Less” (Tom Douglas, Josh Leo, Stan Lynch) – 3:29

================================

 

JOHN MICHAEL MONTGOMERY – Beer And Bones

I ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones
Honey since I lost you
I ain’t ate a bite
Since the night
That you said we’re through
I walked to that jukebox to play
A few sad country songs
I heard someone say
Hey that old boy
Ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones

I got to work this morning
Early this afternoon
Yeah my boss man nudged me
Said son I need to talk to you
You used to make me money
But lately I been taking a loss
Well he smelled my breath
Gave me what was left
Of the day off

I ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones
Honey since I lost you
I ain’t ate a bite
Since the night
That you said we’re through
I walked to that jukebox to play
A few sad country songs
I heard someone say
Hey that old boy
Ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones

Well I wish I could go home
And rest my weary head
But I know I’ll just stay here
And have another beer instead
That little waitress asked me
Honey could you use some help
I said I thank you miss
I’ll have to get through this
By my dang self

I ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones
Honey since I lost you
I ain’t ate a bite
Since the night
That you said we’re through
I walked to that jukebox to play
A few sad country songs
I heard someone say
Hey that old boy
Ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones
I heard someone say
Hey that old boy
Ain’t nothin’ but beer and bones
John Michael Montgomery – Love Working On You

You woke up this morning
Changes were taking place
You looked in the mirror
A smile was all over your face

‘Cause out of nowhere
Someone was there
Who dared to climb
Those walls you made
It’s exciting, a little frightening
But girl don’t you be afraid

That’s just the love working
Love working on you
That’s just the love working
Working on pulling you through

Can’t even remember
All the sorrow that you left behind
It’s a brand new day
There’s a bright new way
And your tears have turned into wine

You never forget
When your eyes met
Or just how clearly you could see
Where the turns are deep in your heart
That lead you to believe

That’s just the love working
Love working on you
That’s just the love working
Working on pulling you through

All of the while you felt forsaken
And all of the while
Love’s been waiting, waiting

Suddenly you see how it could be
If we all only felt this way
And for a while girl you can see this world
Looking through the eyes of fate

That’s just the love working
Love working on you
That’s just the love working
Working on pulling you through

That’s just the love working
Love working on you
That’s just the love working
Working on pulling you through

That’s just the love working on you
That’s just the love working
Working on pulling you through

