Gilbert O’Sullivan – Alone Again (original version)

In a little while from now,
If I’m not feeling any less sour,
I promised myself, to treat myself,
And visit a nearby tower ……….
And climbing to the top,
will throw myself off,
In an effort to, make clear to whoever,
What it’s like when you’re shattered …….
Left standing in the lurch,
At a church where people saying …..
My God, that’s tough, she stood him up,
No point in us remaining …….
May as well go home,
As I did on my own,
Alone again, naturally.

To think that only yesterday,
I was cheerful, bright and gay.
Looking forward to-
Who wouldn’t do- the role I was about to play.
but, as if to knock me down,
Reality came around,
And without so much as a mere touch,
Cut me into little pieces.
Leaving me to doubt, Talk about God and His mercy,
Who, if He really does exist,
Why did He desert me?
And in my hour of need,
I truely am, indeed,
Alone again, naturally.

It seems to me that there are more hearts,
Broken in the world that can’t be mended,
Left unattended, what do we do?
What do we do?

Looking back over the years,
And whatever else that appears.
I remember I cried when my father died,
Never wishing to hide the tears.
And at sixty-five years old,
My mother, God rest her soul,
Couldn’t understand why the only man,
She had ever loved had been taken.
Leaving her to start, with a heart so badly broken,
Despite encouragement from me,
No words were ever spoken.
And when she passed away,
I cried and cried all day,
Alone again, naturally …..
Alone again …………………………… naturally

Gilbert O’Sullivan. Claire.

Clair
The moment I met you, I swear.
I felt as if something, somewhere,
Had happened to me,
which I couldn’t see.
And then, the moment I met you, again.
I knew in my heart
that we were friends.
It had to be so,
it couldn’t be no.
But try as hard as I might do,
I don’t know why.
You get to me in a way
I can’t describe.
Words mean so little
when you look up and smile.
I don’t care what people say,
to me you’re more than a child
Oh, Clair.
Clair

Clair
If ever a moment so rare
Was captured for all to compare.
That moment is you
in all that you do.
But why in spite of our
age difference do I cry.
Each time I leave you
I feel I could die.
Nothing means more to me
than hearing you say,
“I’m going to marry you.
Will you marry me, Uncle Ray?
Oh, Clair.
Clair

Clair
I’ve told you before
“Don’t you dare!”
“Get back into bed.”
“Can’t you see that it’s late.”
“No you can’t have a drink.”
“Oh all right then,
but wait just a minute.”
While I, in an effort to babysit,
catch up on my breath,
What there is left of it.
You can be murder
at this hour of the day.
But in the morning the sun
will see my lifetime away.
Oh, Clair
Clair
Oh, Clair

Lulu & Gilbert O’Sullivan – get down BBC 70s

Told you once before
And I won’t tell you no more
Get down, get down, get down
You’re a bad dog baby
But I still want you ’round

You give me the creeps
When you jump on your feet
So get down, get down, get down
Keep your hands to yourself
I’m strictly out of bounds

Once upon a time I drank a little wine
Was as happy as could be, happy as could be
Now I’m just like a cat on a hot tin roof
Baby what do you think you’re doin’ to me

Told you once before
And I won’t tell you no more
So get down, get down, get down
You’re a bad dog baby
But I still want you ’round – around
I still want you around

I don’t give a damn
And I’d like you if you can to
Get down, get down, get down
You’re a bad dog baby
But I still want you ’round

Gilbert Osullivan – Special

Gilbert O’Sullivan – Nothing rhymed

If I give up the seat I’ve been saving
To some elderly lady or man
Am I being a good boy
Am I your pride and joy
Mother please if your pleased say I am
And if while in the course of my duty
I perform an unfortunate take
Would you punish me so, unbelievably so
Never again will I make that mistake
This feeling inside me could never deny me
The right to be wrong if I choose
And this pleasure I get
>From say winning a bet
Is to lose
When I’m drinking my Bonaparte Shandy
Eating more than enough apple pies
Will I glance at my screen and see real human beings
Starve to death –
Right in front of my eyes
Nothing old, nothing new, nothing ventured
Nothing gained, nothing still-born or lost
Nothing further than proof nothing wilder than youth
Nothing older than time nothing sweeter than wine
Nothing physically, recklessly, hopelessly blind
Nothing I couldn’t say
Nothing why ‘cos today
Nothing rhymed

Gilbert O’Sullivan – Matrimony (live)

I’ve no wish to hurry you luv
But have you seen the time
It’s quarter to ten and we’re supposed to be there
At nine
I don’t think the registrar
Will be very pleased
When we show up an hour late
Like two frozen peas
Both now facing for the first time
Presently and past
Something that begins with M
And ends in alas
More than not complete disaster
Even from the start
What could it be…
It’s Matrimony
I know how you’ve dreamt about
Being walked down the aisle
But think of the money we’ll save
And you’ll see it’s worthwhile
It won’t please our mums and dads
But they don’t even know,
Besides if they did what’s the betting
They wouldn’t even go
You and me are all that matters
Disregard the rest
Trust your soon to be old man
He knows what is best
Very shortly now there’s going to be
An answer from you
Then one from me
That’s matrimony
I’m truly grateful for the little things in life
That have made me so glad
Every other hour that I spend with you
Is not in the least bit sad
Quite the opposite in fact
And if you don’t believe me
Here’s the proof
Ask me if I and I’ll say “Aye, I do”
(Break)
You and me are all that matters
Disregard the rest
Trust your soon to be old man
He knows what is best
Very shortly now there’s going to be
An answer from you
Then one from me
That’s matrimony
Marriage-the joining together of the two people
For better or for worse Till death them do part
Ole
Gilbert O’Sullivan – Christmas song

