Steve Perry-Foolish Heart

I need a love that grows
I don’t want it unless I know
With each passin hour
Someone, somehow
Will be there, ready to share

I need a love that’s strong
I’m so tired of being alone
But will my lonely heart
Play the part
Of the fool again, before I begin

Foolish heart, hear me calling
Stop before you start falling
Foolish heart, heed my warning
You’ve been wrong before
Don’t be wrong anymore

Feelin that feelin again
Playin a game I can’t win
Love’s knockin on the door
Of my heart once more
Think I’ll let her in
Before I begin

Foolish heart, hear me calling
Stop before, you start falling
Foolish heart, heed my warning
You’ve been wrong before
Don’t be wrong anymore
Foolish heart
Foolish, foolish heart
You’ve been wrong before

Foolish heart, hear me calling
Stop before you start falling
Foolish heart, heed my warning
You’ve been wrong before
Don’t be wrong anymore
Foolish heart

Oh foolish
foolish heart
You’ve been wrong before

Foolish
foolish heart
Foolish heart

You better wait – Steve Perry

First appeared on
For the Love of Strange Medicine
(Columbia Records 44287)
1994 Street Talk Tunes, Lincoln Brewster Music,
Paul Taylor Music LTD, Jortunes)
(Steve Perry, Lincoln Brewster, Paul Taylor, Moyes Lucas,
J. Pierce, G. Hawkins)

She was only a child
Someone to hold on
Only a child
Someone to believe in
Only a child
Someone to love

Ah……..

She was “17”
Beauty queen
I met her in a magazine
Heart of fire
Loves desire
Reachin’ out
Higher, higher

Runaway
One more day
A broken hearted child at play
I pray for you
Baby blue
In the name of love
I reach for you

In the darkness comes
The evil of the night
Think about it

You better wait
Stop yourself before you fall
You better wait
Stop before you lose it all
Somewhere there’s love

Oh somewhere, somewhere

Precious girl
Little pearl
Temptation is a lonely world
Eyes deceive
They believe
In everything they wanna see, yeah

And the neon lights
Reflect your life
Only you know
Where you hide baby

You better wait
Stop yourself before you fall
You better wait
Stop before you lose it all
‘Cause somewhere there’s love
You better wait
Stop before you start
Don’t look back
Don’t lose heart

(guitar solo)

Don’t look
Don’t look
Don’t look back baby

Ah……

Don’t

Ah……

Don’t look
Don’t look
Don’t look back baby

Steve Perry ……..I Stand Alone

I Stand Alone

I know the sound of each rock and stone
I embrace what others fear
You are not to roam in this forgotten place
Just the likes of me are welcome here

Everything breathes
And I know each breath
It’s more than enough for this man

Like every tree stands on its own
Reaching for the sky I stand alone
I share my world
With no one else
All by myself I stand alone

Deep in the darkness my heart still sees
Everything that I’ll never be
Behind these eyes I’ll go everywhere
There’s no need for sympathy
Everything breathes and I know each breath
In my world there’s no compromise

Like every tree stands on its own
Oh reaching for the sky I stand alone
I share my world with no one else
All by myself…

Still
I will remember
Still
I’ll run with you, yes
And when it’s time for you to go
Take me in your heart

Like every tree
Stands on its own
Oh reaching for the sky I stand alone
I share my world with noone else
All by myself
I stand alone

All by myself… all by myself
I stand alone

Steve Perry – Oh Sherrie

You should’ve been gone knowing how I made you feel

And I should’ve been gone after all your words of steel.
Oh
I must’ve been a dreamer
and I must’ve been someone else

And we should’ve been over.

Oh
Sherrie
our love holds on
holds on.
Oh
Sherrie
our love holds on
holds on.
But I want to let go youll go on hurtin’ me

You’d be better off alone if I’m not who you thought I’d be.
But you know that there’s a fever
oh
that you’ll never find nowhere else

Can’t you feel it burnin’ – on and on?
Oh
Sherrie
our love holds on
holds on. . . .
But I should’ve been gone long ago
far away.
And you should’ve been gone
now I know just why you stay.
Oh
Sherrie
our love holds on
holds on. . ..
Oh
Sherrie
our love holds on
holds on. . . .

