Wiki on John Denver.

Back Home Again

There’s a storm across the valley, clouds are rollin’ in
The afternoon is heavy on your shoulders
There’s a truck out on the four lane a mile or more away
The whinin’ of his wheels just makes it colder

He’s an hour away from ridin’ on your prayers up in the sky
And ten days on the road are barely gone
There’s a fire softly burnin’, supper’s on the stove
But it’s the light in your eyes that makes him warm

Hey it’s good to be back home again
Sometimes this old farm feels like a long-lost friend
Yes ’n’ hey, it’s good to be back home again

There’s all the news to tell him, how’d you spend your time
What’s the latest thing the neighbors say
And your mother called last friday, ¡°sunshine¡± made her cry
You felt the baby move just yesterday

Hey it’s good to be back home again – yes it is
Sometimes this old farm feels like a long-lost friend
Yes ’n’ hey, it’s good to be back home again

Oh the time that I can lay this tired old body down
Feel your fingers feather soft upon me
The kisses that I live for, the love that lights my way
The happiness that that livin’ with you brings me

It’s the sweetest thing I know of, just spending time with you
It’s the little things that make a house a home
Like a fire softly burnin’ supper on the stove
The light in your eyes that makes me warm

Hey it’s good to be back home again
Sometimes this old farm feels like a long-lost friend
Yes ’n’ hey, it’s good to be back home again

Hey it’s good to be back home again – you know it is
Sometimes this old farm feels like a long-lost friend
Hey, it’s good to be back home again
I said hey it’s good to be back home again

Sweet Surrender

Lost and alone on some forgotten highway
Travelled by many remembered by few
Lookin for something that I can believe in
Lookin for something that Id like to do with my life

Theres nothin behind me and nothin that ties me
To somethin that might have been true yesterday
Tomorrow is open and right now it seems to be more
Than enough to just be there today

And I dont know what the future is holdin in store
I dont know where Im goin, Im not sure where Ive been
Theres a spirit that guides me, a light that shines for me
My life is worth the livin, I dont need to see the end

Sweet, sweet surrender
Live, live without care
Like a fish in the water
Like a bird in the air

Sweet, sweet surrender
Live, live without care
Like a fish in the water
Like a bird in the air

Lost and alone on some forgotten highway
Travelled by many remembered by few
Lookin for something that I can believe in
Lookin for something that Id like to do with my life

Theres nothin behind me and nothin that ties me
To somethin that might have been true yesterday
Tomorrow is open and right now it seems to be more
Than enough to just be there today

And I dont know what the future is holdin in store
I dont know where Im goin, Im not sure where Ive been
Theres a spirit that guides me, a light that shines for me
My life is worth the livin, I dont need to see the end

Sweet, sweet surrender
Live, live without care
Like a fish in the water
Like a bird in the air

Sweet, sweet surrender
Live, live without care
Like a fish in the water
Like a bird in the air

Sweet, sweet surrender
Live, live without care
Like a fish in the water
Like a bird in the air

Sweet, sweet surrender
Live, live without care
Like a fish in the water
Like a bird in the air

 

john denver- a song for all lovers

I see them dancing somewhere in the moonlight
Somewhere in Alaska, somewhere in the sun
I hear them singing a song for all lovers
A song for the two hearts beating only as one

Imagine the morning no longer alone
The arms of another, a place to belong
No longer the struggle, no longer the night
And ever becoming in the quickening light

To see the darkness, to listen within
To answer in kindness, to ever begin
To ever be gentle, to always be strong
To walk in the wonder, to live in the song

In a place of enchantment where the wild things are known
Will the future remember when the lovers are gone

And I see them dancing somewhere in the moonlight
Somewhere in Alaska, somewhere in the sun
I hear them singing a song for all lovers
A song for the two hearts beating only as one
A song for the two hearts beating only as one

 

It’s About Time

There’s a full moon over India and Gandhi lives again.
Who’s to say you have to lose for someone else to win?
In the eyes of all the people, the look is much the same,
for the first is just the last one when you play a deadly game.
It’s about time we realize it, we’re all in this together.
It’s about time we find out, it’s all of us or none.
It’s about time we recognize it, these changes in the weather.
It’s about time, it’s about changes, and it’s about time.

There’s a light in the Vatican window for all the world to see
and a voice cries in the wilderness and sometimes he speaks for me.
I suppose I love him most of all when he kneels to kiss the land,
with his lips upon our mother’s breast, he makes his strongest stand.
It’s about time we start to see it, the earth is our only home.
It’s about time we start to face it, we can’t make it here all alone.
It’s about time we start to listen to the voices in the wind,
it’s about time and it’s about changes and it’s about time.

There’s a man who is my brother, I just don’t know his name.
But I know his home and family because I know we feel the same.
And it hurts me when he’s hungry and when his children cry.
I too am a father, and that little one is mine.
It’s about time we begin it, to turn the world around.
It’s about time we start to make it, the dream we’ve always known.
It’s about time we start to live it, the family of man.
It’s about time, it’s about changes and it’s about time.
It’s about peace and it’s about plenty and it’s about time,
It’s about you and me together and it’s about time.

My Sweet Lady

Lady, are you crying, do the tears belong to me
Did you think our time together was all gone
Lady, you’ve been dreaming, I’m as close as I can be
I swear to you our time has just begun

Close your eyes and rest your weary mind
I promise I will stay right here beside you
Today our lives were joined, became entwined
I wish THAT you could know how much I love you

[ Find more Lyrics at www.mp3lyrics.org/fkU ]
Lady, are you happy, do you feel the way I do
Are there meanings that you’ve never seen before
Lady, my sweet lady, I just can’t believe it’s true
And it’s like I’ve never ever loved before

Close your eyes and rest your weary mind
I promise I will stay right here beside you
Today our lives were joined, became entwined
I wish THAT you could know how much I love you

Lady, are you crying, do the tears belong to me
Did you think our time together was all gone
Lady, my sweet lady, I’m as close as I can be
AND I swear to you our time has just begun

Poems Prayers Promises

Ive been lately thinking
About my lifes time
All the things Ive done
And how its been
And I cant help believing
In my own mind
I know Im gonna hate to see it end

Ive seen a lot of sunshine
Slept out in the rain
Spent a night or two all on my own
Ive known my ladys pleasures
Had myself some friends
And spent a time or two in my own home

And I have to say it now
Its been a good life all in all
Its really fine
To have a chance to hang around
And lie there by the fire
And watch the evening tire
While all my friends and my old lady
Sit and pass the pipe around

And talk of poems and prayers and promises
And things that we believe in
How sweet it is to love someone
How right it is to care
How long its been since yesterday
And what about tomorrow
And what about our dreams
And all the memories we share

The days they pass so quickly now
Nights are seldom long
And time around me whispers when its cold
The changes somehow frighten me
Still I have to smile
It turns me on to think of growing old
For though my lifes been good to me
Theres still so much to do
So many things my mind has never known
Id like to raise a family
Id like to sail away
And dance across the mountains on the moon

I have to say it now
Its been a good life all in all
Its really fine
To have the chance to hang around
And lie there by the fire
And watch the evening tire
While all my friends and my old lady
Sit and pass the pipe around

And talk of poems and prayers and promises
And things that we believe in
How sweet it is to love someone
How right it is to care
How long its been since yesterday
What about tomorrow
What about our dreams
And all the memories we share

Annie’s Song

You fill up my senses
Like a night in a forest
Like a mountain in springtime
Like a walk in the rain
Like a storm in the desert
Like a sleepy blue ocean
You fill up my senses
Come fill me again
Come let me love you
Let me give my life to you
Let me drown in your laughter
Let me die in your arms
Let lay down beside you
Let me always be with you
Come let me love you
Come love me again

Let me always be with you
Come let me love you
Come love me again

Perhaps Love

Perhaps love is like a resting place, a shelter from the storm
It exists to give you comfort, it is there to keep you warm
And in those times of trouble, when you are most alone
The memory of love will bring you home

Perhaps love is like a window, perhaps an open door
It invites to come closer, it wants to show you more
And even if you lose yourself and don’t know what to do
The memory of love will see you through

Oh, love to some is like a cloud, to some as strong as steel
For some a way of living, for some a way to feel
And some say love is holding on, and some say letting go
And some say love is everything, some say they don’t know

Perhaps love is like the ocean, full of conflict, full of pain
Like a fire when it’s cold outside, thunder when it rains
If I should live forever, and all my dreams come true
My memories of love will be of you

And some say love is holding on, and some say letting go
And some say love is everything, and some say they don’t know

Perhaps love is like the ocean, full of conflict, full of pain
Like a fire when it’s cold outside, thunder when it rains
If I should live forever, and all my dreams come true
My memories of love will be of you

Sunshine on my Shoulder

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high

If I had a day that I could give you
Id give to you a day just like today
If I had a song that I could sing for you
Id sing a song to make you feel this way

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high

If I had a tale that I could tell you
Id tell a tale sure to make you smile
If I had a wish that I could wish for you
Id make a wish for sunshine all the while

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high
Sunshine almost all the time makes me high
Sunshine almost always

Fly Away

All of her days have gone soft and cloudy
All of her dreams have gone dry
All of her nights have gone sad and shady
Shes getting ready to fly

Fly away, fly away, fly away

Life in the city can make you crazy
For sounds of the sand and the sea
Life in a high-rise can make you hungry
For things that you cant even see

Fly away, fly away, fly away

In this whole world theres nobody as lonely as she
Theres nowhere to go and theres nowhere that shed rather be

Shes looking for lovers and children playing
Shes looking for signs of the spring
She listens for laughter and sounds of dancing
She listens for any old thing

Fly away, fly away, fly away

This Old Guitar

 

This old guitar taught me to sing a love song
It showed me how to laugh and how to cry
It introduced me to some friends of mine
And brightened up some days
It helped me make it through some lonely nights
[ Find more Lyrics at www.mp3lyrics.org/15Xg ]
Oh, what a friend to have on a cold and lonely night

This old guitar gave me my lovely lady
It opened up her eyes and ears to me
It brought us close together
I guess it broke her heart
It opened up the space for us to be
What a lovely place and a lovely space to be

This old guitar gave me my life my living
All the things you know I love to do
To serenade the stars that shine
From a sunny mountainside
Most of all to sing my songs for you
I love to sing my songs for you
Yes, I do, you know
I love to sing my songs for you

Rymes and Reasons

So you speak to me of sadness
And the coming of the winter
Fear that is within you now
It seems to never end
And the dreams that have escaped you
And the hope that youve forgotten
You tell me that you need me now
You want to be my friend

And you wonder where were going
Wheres the rhyme and wheres the reason
And its you cannot accept
It is here we must begin
To seek the wisdom of the children
And the graceful way of flowers in the wind

For the children and the flowers
Are my sisters and my brothers
Their laughter and their loveliness
Could clear a cloudy day

Like the music of the mountains
And the colours of the rainbow
Theyre a promise of the future
And a blessing for today
Though the cities start to crumble
And the towers fall around us
The sun is slowly fading
And its colder than the sea

It is written from the desert
To the mountains they shall lead us
By the hand and by the heart
They will comfort you and me
In their innocence and trusting
They will teach us to be free

For the children and the flowers
Are my sisters and my brothers
Their laughter and their loveliness
Could clear a cloudy day

And the song that I am singing
Is a prayer to non believers
Come and stand beside us
We can find a better way

Follow Me

Its by far the hardest thing Ive ever done
To be so in love with you and so alone

Follow me where I go what I do and who I know
Make it part of you to be a part of me
Follow me up and down all the way and all around
Take my hand and say youll follow me

Its long been on my mind
You know its been a long, long time
Ive tried to find the way that I can make you understand
The way I feel about you and just how much I need you
To be there where I can talk to you
When theres no one else around

Follow me where I go what I do and who I know
Make it part of you to be a part of me
Follow me up and down all the way and all around
Take my hand and say youll follow me

You see Id like to share my life with you
And show you things Ive seen
Places that Im going to places where Ive been
To have you there beside me and never be alone
And all the time that youre with me
We will be at home

Follow me where I go what I do and who I know
Make it part of you to be a part of me
Follow me up and down all the way
Take my hand and I will follow you

Windsong

The wind is the whisper of our mother the earth
The wind is the hand of our father the sky
The wind watches over our struggles and pleasures
The wind is the goddess who first learned to fly

The wind is the bearer of bad and good tidings
The weaver of darkness, the bringer of dawn
The wind gives the rain, then builds us a rainbow
The wind is the singer who sang the first song

The wind is a twister of anger and warning
The wind brings the fragrance of freshly mown hay
The wind is a racer, a wild stallion running
The sweet taste of love on a slow summers day

The wind knows the songs of the cities and canyons
The thunder of mountains, the roar of the sea
The wind is the taker and giver of mornings
The wind is the symbol of all that is free

So welcome the wind and the wisdom she offers
Follow her summons when she calls again
In your heart and your spirit let the breezes
Surround you
Lift up your voice then and sing with the wind
Autograph

Here I am closing my eyes again
Trying so hard not to see
All the things that I see
Almost willing to lie again
I swear that it just isn’t so
It just isn’t me

We are never alone
Even though we’d like to be

The I go and open my eyes again
Love in your eyes is the thing
That I’d most like to see
I’d be willing to die again
To know of a place and a time
Where it always could be

To be always with you
And you always with me
This is my autograph
Here in the songs I sing
Here in my cry, in my laugh
Here in the love that I bring

To be always with you
And you always with me

Say a prayer and open your heart again
You are the love and the life
That we all need to see
Always willing to shine and then
Peace on this earth is the way
That it always can be

To be always with you
And you always with me

This is my autograph
Here in the songs I sing
Here in my cry, in my laugh
Here in the love that I bring

To be always with you
And you always with me 

Grandma’s Feather Bed

When I was a little bitty boy, just up off a floor
We used to go up to grandma’s house, ev’ry month end or so
We’d have chicken pies and country ham ‘n’ home made butter on the bread
But the best darn thing about Grandma’s house was her great big feather bed

It was nine feet high and six feet wide, soft as a downy chick
It was made from the feathers of forty ‘leven geese, took a whole bolt of cloth for the tick
It’d hold eight kids ‘n’ four hound dogs and a piggy we stole from the shed
We didn’t get much sleep but we had a lot of fun on grandma’s feather bed

After supper we’d sit around the fire, the old folks’d spit and chew
Pa would talk about the farm and the war, and granny’d sing a ballad or two
I’d sit and listen and watch the fire, till the cobwebs filled my head
Next thing I’d know I’d wake up in the morn in the middle of the old feather bed

It was nine feet high and six feet wide, soft as a downy chick
It was made from the feathers of forty ‘leven geese, took a whole bolt of cloth for the tick
It’d hold eight kids ‘n’ four hound dogs and a piggy we stole from the shed
We didn’t get much sleep but we had a lot of fun on grandma’s feather bed

Well I love my ma, I love my pa, I love granny and grandpa too
I’ve been fishin’ with my uncle, I rassled with my cousin, I even kissed Aunt Lou, eww!
But if I ever had to make a choice, I guess it ought to be said
That I’d trade ’em all plus the gal down the road for grandma’s feather bed

It was nine feet high and six feet wide, soft as a downy chick
It was made from the feathers of forty ‘leven geese, took a whole bolt of cloth for the tick
It’d hold eight kids ‘n’ four hound dogs and a piggy we stole from the shed
We didn’t get much sleep but we had a lot of fun on grandma’s feather bed
We didn’t get much sleep but we had a lot of fun on grandma’s feather bed

The Eagle and the Hawk

Ohhhhh
I am the eagle, I live in high country
In rocky cathedrals that reach to the sky.

I am the hawk and there’s blood on my feathers
The time is still turning, they soon will be dry.

And all those who see me, and those who believe in me
Share in the freedom I feel when I fly.

Come, dance with the west wind and touch on the mountain tops
Sail o’er the canyons and up to the stars
Reach for the heavens and hope for the future
All that we can be, not what we are.

Thank God I’m a Country Boy 

Lyrics from lyrics007 

Well life on the farm is kinda laid back
Aint much an old country boy like me cant hack
Its early to rise, early in the sack
Thank God Im a country boy

Well a simple kinda life never did me no harm
A raisin me a family and workin on a farm
My days are all filled with an easy country charm
Thank God Im a country boy

Well I got me a fine wife I got me a fiddle
When the suns comin up I got cakes on the griddle
Life aint nothin but a funy funny riddle
Thank God Im a country boy

When the works all done and the suns settlin low
I pull out my fiddle and I rosin up the bow
The kids are asleep so I keep it kinda low
Thank God Im a country boy

Id play Sally Goodin all day if I could
But the Lord and my wife wouldnt take it very good
So I fiddle when I could, work when I should
Thank God Im a country boy

Well I got me a fine wife I got me a fiddle
When the suns comin up I got cakes on the griddle
Life aint nothin but a funy funny riddle
Thank God Im a country boy

Well I wouldnt trade my life for diamonds and jewels
I never was one of them money hungry fools
Iid rather have my fiddle and my farmin tools
Thank God Im a country boy

Yeah, city folk drivin in a black limousine
A lotta sad people thinkin thats mighty keen
Son, let me tell ya now exactly what I mean
Thank God Im a country boy

Well I got me a fine wife I got me a fiddle
When the suns comin up I got cakes on the griddle
Life aint nothin but a funy funny riddle
Thank God Im a country boy

Well, my fiddle was my daddys till the day he died
And he took me by the hand and held me close to his side
Said, Live a good life and play my fiddle with pride
And thank God youre a country boy

My daddy taught me young how to hunt and how to whittle
Taught me how to work and play a tune on the fiddle
Taught me how to love and how to give just a little
Thank God Im a country boy

Take Me Home, Country Road


Well I got me a fine wife I got me a fiddle
When the suns comin up I got cakes on the griddle
Life aint nothin but a funy funny riddle
Thank God Im a country boy 
Almost heaven, West Virginia,
Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River.
Life is old there, older than the trees,
younger than the mountains
growin’ like a breeze.

Ref.) country roads, Take me home to the place I belong.
West Virginia, Mountain momma, Country roads take me home

All my mem’ries, gather round her,
miner’s lady, stranger to blue water.
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky,
misty taste of moonshine
teardrop in my eye.

Rit: country… Take me home,

I hear her voice in the morning hour she calls me,
the radio reminds me of my home far away
and driving down the road I get a feeling
that I should have been home yesterday, yesterday.

Ref.) Country roads……..

Sunshine on my Shoulder 

* Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high *

If I had a day that I could give you
I’d give to you a day just like today
If I had a song that I could sing for you
I’d sing song to make you feel this way
(Repeat *)

If I had a tale that I could tell you
I’d tell a tale sure to make you smile
If I had a wish that I could wish for you
I’d make a wish for sunshine all the while
(Repeat *)
Sunshine almost all the time makes me high

Leaving on a Jet Plane

All my bags are packed
Im ready to go
Im standin here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin
Its early morn
The taxis waitin
Hes blowin his horn
Already Im so lonesome
I could die

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that youll wait for me
Hold me like youll never let me go
cause Im leavin on a jet plane
Dont know when Ill be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Theres so many times Ive let you down
So many times Ive played around
I tell you now, they dont mean a thing
Evry place I go, Ill think of you
Evry song I sing, Ill sing for you
When I come back, Ill bring your wedding ring

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that youll wait for me
Hold me like youll never let me go
cause Im leavin on a jet plane
Dont know when Ill be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Now the time has come to leave you
One more time
Let me kiss you
Then close your eyes
Ill be on my way
Dream about the days to come
When I wont have to leave alone
About the times, I wont have to say

Oh, kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that youll wait for me
Hold me like youll never let me go
cause Im leavin on a jet plane
Dont know when Ill be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

But, Im leavin on a jet plane
Dont know when Ill be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

For Baby

I’ll walk in the rain by your side,
I’ll cling to the warmth your hand.
I’ll do anything to keep you satisfied,
I’ll love you more than anybody can.

And the wind will whisper your name to me.
Little birds will sing along in time.
Leaves will bow down when you walk by,
And morning bells will chime.

I’ll be there when you’re feelin’ down,
To kiss away the tears if you cry
I’ll share with you all the happiness I’ve found;
A reflection of the love in your eyes.

And I’ll sing you the songs of the rainbow;
A whisper of the joy that is mine.
And leaves will bow down when you walk by,
And morning bells will chime.

I’ll walk in the rain by your side.
I’ll cling to the warmth your tiny hand.
I’ll do anything to help understand.
And I’ll love you more than anybody can.

And the wind will whisper your name to me.
Little birds will sing along in time.
Leaves will bow down when you walk by:
And morning bells will chime.

 

============================

John Denver – Royal Bicentennial Concert (1988) [1/2]

John Denver – Royal Bicentennial Concert (1988) [2/2]

============================

O Holy Night

A Christmas Together

============================

 

 

===================================

John Denver speaks

On Calypso

Derryn Hinch Show

=======================================

 

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [1/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [2/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [3/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [4/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [5/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [6/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [7/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [8/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [9/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [10/11]

John Denver – Live at The Apollo Theater (1982) [11/11]

=================================

Children of the Universe

How Can I Leave You Again, I’m Sorry and Shanghai Breezes

 

Love Again

I didn’t think it could happen again
I’m just too old and set in my ways
I was convinced I would always be lonely
All of the rest of my days
Maybe I give up on romance
In my longing to give up the pain
I just didn’t believe I would ever love again

I was like one who had shut myself in
Closed the windows, locked all the doors
Afraid of the dark and the beat of my heart
Yet knowing there had to be more
Though it sounds like a great contradiction
It’s the easiest thing to explain
You see, I was afraid I might never love again

What does it take for a blind man to see
That there’s more there than just meets the eye
What are the ways that the magic comes in
That can turn a song into a sigh
Sometimes I think that I’m dreaming
Or maybe I’m going insane
Or maybe it’s just that I’m falling in love again

Here I am standing beside you
Oh, life’s such a wonderful game
Look at me now, I’m falling in love
Look at me now, I’m falling in love
Look at me now, I’m falling in love again

 

